Catholic-Hierarchy DC

Archdiocese of Lima

Archidioecesis Limana

Show: All | General Information | Historical Details | Ordinaries | Historical Summary | Statistics | Affiliated Bishops, Living | Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


Suffragan Dioceses

General Information

  • Type of Jurisdiction: Archdiocese
  • Elevated: 12 February 1546
  • Metropolitan See
  • Rite: Latin (or Roman)
  • Country: Peru
  • Square Kilometers: 639 (246 Square Miles)
  • Official Web Site:
  • Mailing Address: Arzobispado, Jr. Chancay 282, Lima 1; Apartado 1512, Lima 100, Peru
  • Telephone: (1)203-7700
  • Fax: 433-3740

Historical Details

Past and Present Ordinaries

Historical Summary

Diocese of Lima
14 May 1541ErectedDiocese of Cuzco Diocese of Lima (erected)
8 January 1546Territory LostDiocese of Lima Diocese of Quito (erected)
Archdiocese of Lima
12 February 1546ElevatedDiocese of Lima Archdiocese of Lima
27 June 1561Territory LostDiocese of La Plata o Charcas
Archdiocese of Lima
Diocese of Santiago de Chile (erected)
15 April 1577Territory LostArchdiocese of Lima Diocese of Arequipa (erected)
Diocese of Trujillo (erected)
28 May 1803Territory LostDiocese of Ayacucho o Huamanga (Guamanga)
Diocese of Cuenca
Archdiocese of Lima
Diocese of Popayán
Diocese of Quito
Diocese of Trujillo
Diocese of Maynas (erected)
17 March 1865Territory LostArchdiocese of Lima Diocese of Huánuco (erected)
15 May 1899Territory LostArchdiocese of Lima Diocese of Huaraz (erected)
10 August 1946Territory LostDiocese of Ayacucho o Huamanga (Guamanga) (Chavin (in Ica))
Archdiocese of Lima (Ica (Ingenio, Lurén, Nazca, Palpa, Pueblo Nuevo, San Jerónimo de Ica, San Juan, Carmen, Chincha Alta, Chincha Baja, Sunampe, Humay, and Pisco))
Diocese of Ica (erected)
12 April 1957Territory LostArchdiocese of Lima (Huarochiri and Yauyos) Territorial Prelature of Yauyos (erected)
15 May 1958Territory LostDiocese of Huaraz (Cajatambo)
Archdiocese of Lima (Canta except Santa Rosa de Quives; Parts of Cajatambo)
Diocese of Huacho (erected)
24 March 1962Territory LostArchdiocese of Lima (Province of Gemete) Territorial Prelature of Yauyos
10 March 1970Territory LostArchdiocese of Lima (Ventanilla) Diocese of Callao
25 July 1977Territory LostArchdiocese of Lima (Area between Tomás Valle Avenue and the Rimae River) Diocese of Callao
14 December 1996Territory LostArchdiocese of Lima (Corpus Christi, Niño Jesús, La Anunciación, La Trinidad, Los Santos Inocentes, María Misionera, Sagrado Corazón de Jesús, San Francisco, San Gabriel Arcángel, San José de Nazaret, San Martín, Santa Catalina Labouré, Cristo de Pachacamilla, Cristo Res...) Diocese of Lurín (erected)
14 December 1996Territory LostArchdiocese of Lima Diocese of Carabayllo (erected)
14 December 1996Territory LostArchdiocese of Lima Diocese of Chosica (erected)


YearCatholicsTotal PopulationPercent CatholicDiocesan PriestsReligious PriestsTotal PriestsCatholics Per PriestPermanent DeaconsMale ReligiousFemale ReligiousParishesSource
Archdiocese of Lima

Note: Any changes in boundaries over time are not indicated in the above table.

Affiliated Bishops, Living

Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Diocese of Lima
    • Hierarchia Catholica, Volume 3, Page 225
    • Series Episcoporum Ecclesiae Catholicae, Volume 1, Page 153, to Page 154
  • Archdiocese of Lima
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 54, Page 735, to Page 737


Home | Countries | Religious Orders | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_d, v3.4.7, 20 Apr 2024; Data: 27 May 2024