Catholic-Hierarchy DC

Archdiocese of Québec

Archidioecesis Quebecensis

Show: All | General Information | Historical Details | Ordinaries | Historical Summary | Statistics | Affiliated Bishops, Living | Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Gérald Cyprien Lacroix, I.S.P.X., Cardinal, Archbishop
  • Juan Carlos Londoño, Auxiliary Bishop
  • Marc Pelchat, Auxiliary Bishop

Suffragan Dioceses

General Information

  • Type of Jurisdiction: Archdiocese
  • Elevated: 12 January 1819
  • Metropolitan See
  • Rite: Latin (or Roman)
  • Province: Québec
  • Country: Canada
  • Square Kilometers: 35,180 (13,588 Square Miles)
  • Conference Region: Quebec
  • Catholic Directory Abbreviation: Q
  • Official Web Site:
  • Mailing Address: Chancellerie, 1073 boul. René-Lévesque Ouest, Sillery, QC G1S 4R5, Canada
  • Telephone: (418)688-1211
  • Fax: 688-2960

Historical Details

Past and Present Ordinaries

Historical Summary

Vicariate Apostolic of New France (Nouvelle-France)
11 April 1658ErectedArchdiocese of Rouen Vicariate Apostolic of New France (Nouvelle-France) (erected)
Diocese of Québec
1 October 1674ElevatedVicariate Apostolic of New France (Nouvelle-France) Diocese of Québec (Most of North America (from Gulf of St. Lawrence to Gulf of Mexico, excluding New England, Florida, and California))
1763Territory LostDiocese of Québec Prefecture Apostolic of Iles Saint-Pierre et Miquelon (erected) ((13 Jun 1818 and 4 Mar 1912))
30 May 1784Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of London District (formally)
Diocese of Québec (de facto)
Prefecture Apostolic of Newfoundland (erected)
4 July 1817Territory LostDiocese of Québec Vicariate Apostolic of Nova Scotia (erected)
12 January 1819Territory LostDiocese of Québec Vicariate Apostolic of Upper Canada (erected)
Archdiocese of Québec
12 January 1819ElevatedDiocese of Québec Archdiocese of Québec
1 February 1820Territory LostArchdiocese of Québec (Anticosti Island and the Labrador coast) Vicariate Apostolic of Newfoundland
11 August 1829Territory LostArchdiocese of Québec (Prince Edward Island, New Brunswick, and the Magdalen Islands) Diocese of Charlottetown (erected)
4 September 1829Territory LostArchdiocese of Québec (Cape Breton) Vicariate Apostolic of Nova Scotia
13 May 1836Territory LostArchdiocese of Québec Diocese of Montréal (erected)
1 December 1843Territory LostArchdiocese of Baltimore
Archdiocese of Québec
Vicariate Apostolic of Oregon Territory (erected) (From California to Alaska, from the Rocky Mountains to the Pacific Ocean)
16 April 1844Territory LostArchdiocese of Québec Vicariate Apostolic of North-West (Nord-Ouest) (erected)
12 July 1844ElevatedArchdiocese of Québec (became a Metropolitan)
8 June 1852Territory LostDiocese of Montréal (Counties of St-Hyacinthe, Richelieu, Rouville, Missisquoi, Shefford, and Stanstead)
Archdiocese of Québec (Parts of the county of Sherbrooke)
Diocese of Saint-Hyacinthe (erected)
8 June 1852Territory LostDiocese of Montréal
Archdiocese of Québec
Diocese of Trois-Rivières (erected)
15 January 1867Territory LostArchdiocese of Québec Diocese of Rimouski (St. Germain of) (erected)
28 August 1874Territory LostArchdiocese of Québec
Diocese of Saint-Hyacinthe
Diocese of Trois-Rivières
Diocese of Sherbrooke (erected)
28 May 1878Territory LostArchdiocese of Québec Diocese of Chicoutimi (erected)
28 June 1929Territory LostArchdiocese of Québec (Blier) Diocese of Rimouski (St. Germain of)
26 April 1941Territory LostArchdiocese of Québec (Canton Price) Diocese of Sherbrooke
23 June 1951Territory LostArchdiocese of Québec (Kamouraslca, Islet, Montmagny, and Rivière du Loup) Diocese of Sainte-Anne-de-la-Pocatière (erected)
3 January 1966Territory LostArchdiocese of Québec (St. Rémi du Lac aux Sables, St. Leopold de Eervey Jonction, Notre Dame des Anges de Montauban, and Saint Eloi les Mines) Diocese of Trois-Rivières
23 January 1975Territory LostArchdiocese of Québec (Notre-Dame-des-Neiges (Lac-Édouard)) Diocese of Trois-Rivières
23 January 1975Territory LostArchdiocese of Québec (Ganton Sagard) Diocese of Chicoutimi


YearCatholicsTotal PopulationPercent CatholicDiocesan PriestsReligious PriestsTotal PriestsCatholics Per PriestPermanent DeaconsMale ReligiousFemale ReligiousParishesSource
Archdiocese of Québec

Note: Any changes in boundaries over time are not indicated in the above table.

Affiliated Bishops, Living

Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Diocese of Québec
    • Hierarchia Catholica, Volume 5, Page 326
    • Hierarchia Catholica, Volume 6, Page 350
    • Series Episcoporum Ecclesiae Catholicae, Volume 1, Page 176, to Page 177


Home | Countries | Religious Orders | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_d, v3.4.7, 20 Apr 2024; Data: 25 May 2024