Catholic-Hierarchy DC

Archdiocese of Santo Domingo

Archidioecesis Sancti Dominici

Show: All | General Information | Historical Details | Ordinaries | Historical Summary | Statistics | Affiliated Bishops, Living | Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


Suffragan Dioceses

General Information

  • Type of Jurisdiction: Archdiocese
  • Elevated: 12 February 1546
  • Metropolitan See
  • Depends on: Dicastery for Bishops
  • Rite: Latin (or Roman)
  • Country: Dominican Republic
  • Square Kilometers: 3,995 (1,543 Square Miles)
  • Official Web Site:
  • Mailing Address: Arzobispado, Apartado 186, Calle Isabel la Católica 55, Santo Domingo, República Dominicana
  • Telephone: (809)685-3141/3; 622-1221

Historical Details

Past and Present Ordinaries

Historical Summary

Diocese of Santo Domingo
8 August 1511ErectedDiocese of Santo Domingo (erected)
11 February 1516Territory LostDiocese of Santo Domingo Diocese of Baracoa (All Cuba) (Nuestra Señora de la Asunción de Baracoa) (erected)
10 January 1534Territory LostDiocese of Santo Domingo Diocese of Santa Marta (erected)
3 November 1534Territory LostDiocese of Santo Domingo Diocese of Nicaragua (erected)
18 December 1534Territory LostDiocese of Santo Domingo Diocese of Santiago de Guatemala (erected)
Archdiocese of Santo Domingo
12 February 1546ElevatedDiocese of Santo Domingo Archdiocese of Santo Domingo
3 October 1861Territory LostArchdiocese of Santo Domingo Diocese of Cap-Haïtien (erected)
Diocese of Les Cayes (erected)
Diocese of Les Gonaïves (erected)
Archdiocese of Port-au-Prince (erected)
Diocese of Port-de-Paix (erected)
25 September 1953Territory LostArchdiocese of Santo Domingo (Le Vega, Duarte, Samaná, and Sánchez Ramírez) Diocese of La Vega (erected)
25 September 1953Territory LostArchdiocese of Santo Domingo (S. Rafael, Benefactor, Baoruco, Independencia, Barahona, and Azua) Territorial Prelature of San Juan de la Maguana (erected)
25 September 1953Territory LostArchdiocese of Santo Domingo (Monte Cristi, Libertador, Santiago Rodríguez, Puerto Plata, Santiago, Espaillat, and Salcedo) Diocese of Santiago de los Caballeros (erected)
25 September 1953ElevatedArchdiocese of Santo Domingo (becomes a Metropolitan (again))
1 April 1959Territory LostArchdiocese of Santo Domingo (La Altagracia and El Seibo) Diocese of Nuestra Señora de la Altagracia en Higüey (erected)
8 November 1986Territory LostArchdiocese of Santo Domingo (Peravia and San Cristóbal) Diocese of Baní (erected)
1 February 1997Territory LostDiocese of Nuestra Señora de la Altagracia en Higüey (Hato Mayor)
Archdiocese of Santo Domingo (San Pedro de Macoris)
Diocese of San Pedro de Macorís (erected)


YearCatholicsTotal PopulationPercent CatholicDiocesan PriestsReligious PriestsTotal PriestsCatholics Per PriestPermanent DeaconsMale ReligiousFemale ReligiousParishesSource
Archdiocese of Santo Domingo

Note: Any changes in boundaries over time are not indicated in the above table.

Affiliated Bishops, Living

Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Diocese of Santo Domingo
    • Hierarchia Catholica, Volume 3, Page 187
    • Hierarchia Catholica, Volume 5, Page 186
    • Hierarchia Catholica, Volume 6, Page 199
    • Series Episcoporum Ecclesiae Catholicae, Volume 1, Page 148


Home | Countries | Religious Orders | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_d, v3.4.6, 4 Feb 2024; Data: 14 Apr 2024