Catholic-Hierarchy DC

Archdiocese of Detroit

Archidioecesis Detroitensis

Show: All | General Information | Historical Details | Ordinaries | Historical Summary | Statistics | Affiliated Bishops, Living | Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Allen Henry Vigneron, Archbishop
  • José Arturo Cepeda Escobedo, Auxiliary Bishop
  • Robert Joseph Fisher, Auxiliary Bishop
  • Jeffrey Marc Monforton, Auxiliary Bishop
  • Paul Fitzpatrick Russell, Auxiliary Bishop
  • Adam Joseph Maida, Cardinal, Archbishop Emeritus
  • Donald Francis Hanchon, Auxiliary Bishop Emeritus
  • Francis Ronald Reiss, Auxiliary Bishop Emeritus

Suffragan Dioceses

General Information

  • Type of Jurisdiction: Archdiocese
  • Elevated: 22 May 1937
  • Metropolitan See
  • Rite: Latin (or Roman)
  • State: Michigan
  • Country: United States of America
  • Square Kilometers: 10,104 (3,902 Square Miles)
  • Description: Monroe, Wayne, Oakland, St. Clair, Macomb, and Lapeer Counties.
  • Conference Region: VI (OH, MI)
  • Catholic Directory Abbreviation: DET
  • Official Web Site:
  • Mailing Address: 12 State Street, Detroit, MI 48226, USA
  • Telephone: (313)237-5800
  • Fax: 237-4642

Historical Details

Past and Present Ordinaries

Historical Summary

Diocese of Detroit
8 March 1833ErectedDiocese of Cincinnati Diocese of Detroit (erected) (Michigan, Wisconsin, Minnesota, and the Dakotas east of the Mississippi River)
18 June 1834Territory AddedDiocese of Detroit (MI and the North West)
28 November 1843Territory LostDiocese of Detroit Diocese of Milwaukee (erected) (State of Wisconsin)
19 July 1850Metropolitan ChangedDiocese of Cleveland (from Baltimore to Cincinnati)
Diocese of Detroit (from Baltimore to Cincinnati)
Diocese of Louisville (from Baltimore to Cincinnati)
Diocese of Vincennes (from Baltimore to Cincinnati)
29 July 1853Territory LostDiocese of Detroit Vicariate Apostolic of Upper Michigan (erected) (Upper peninsula of Michigan and the adjacent islands)
19 May 1882Territory LostDiocese of Detroit Diocese of Grand Rapids (erected) (Northern part of Lower Michigan)
22 May 1937Territory LostDiocese of Detroit (Ionia, Clinton, Allegan, Barry, Eaton, Ingham, Van Buren, Kalamazoo, Calhoun, Jackson, Berrien, Cass, St. Joseph, Branch, and Hillsdale) Diocese of Lansing (erected)
Archdiocese of Detroit
22 May 1937ElevatedDiocese of Detroit Archdiocese of Detroit
26 February 1938Territory LostArchdiocese of Detroit (Huron, Tuscola, and Sanilac)
Diocese of Grand Rapids (Saginaw, Gratiot, Midland, Bay, Gladwin, Arenac, Ogemaw, Iosco, Oscoda, Alcona, Montmorency, Alpena, and Presque Isle)
Diocese of Saginaw (erected)
26 February 1938Territory LostArchdiocese of Detroit (Genesee, Livingston, and Shiawassee) Diocese of Lansing
19 December 1970Territory LostArchdiocese of Detroit (Lenawee and Washtenaw) Diocese of Lansing


YearCatholicsTotal PopulationPercent CatholicDiocesan PriestsReligious PriestsTotal PriestsCatholics Per PriestPermanent DeaconsMale ReligiousFemale ReligiousParishesSource
Diocese of Detroit
Archdiocese of Detroit

Note: Any changes in boundaries over time are not indicated in the above table.

Affiliated Bishops, Living

Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Diocese of Detroit
    • Series Episcoporum Ecclesiae Catholicae, Volume 1, Page 172
  • Archdiocese of Detroit
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 29, Page 391, to Page 393


Home | Countries | Religious Orders | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_d, v3.4.7, 20 Apr 2024; Data: 27 May 2024