Catholic-Hierarchy DC

Archdiocese of Luanda

Archidioecesis Luandensis

Show: All | General Information | Historical Details | Ordinaries | Historical Summary | Statistics | Affiliated Bishops, Living | Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


Suffragan Dioceses

General Information

  • Type of Jurisdiction: Archdiocese
  • Elevated: 4 September 1940
  • Metropolitan See
  • Rite: Latin (or Roman)
  • Country: Angola
  • Square Kilometers: 342 (132 Square Miles)
  • Description: Luanda, Talatona, and part of Belas, Cazenga, and Kilamba-Kiaxi
  • Official Web Site:
  • Mailing Address: Arcebispado, Largo do Palacio 9, C.P. 87, 1230-C Luanda, Angola
  • Telephone: 222.334.640; 921.172.194

Historical Details

Past and Present Ordinaries

Historical Summary

Diocese of Angola e Congo
20 May 1596ErectedDiocese of São Tomé e Príncipe Diocese of Angola e Congo (erected)
1640Territory LostDiocese of Angola e Congo Prefecture Apostolic of Lower Congo (Portuguese Congo) (erected)
16 November 1676Metropolitan ChangedDiocese of Angola e Congo (from Lisboa to São Salvador da Bahia)
3 January 1844Metropolitan ChangedDiocese of Angola e Congo (from São Salvador da Bahia to Lisboa)
Archdiocese of Luanda
4 September 1940ElevatedDiocese of Angola e Congo (Luanda (Cabinda, Zaire, Gongo, Luanda, and Cuanza-North), Ciianza-Sul (in Benguela), and Malanje) Archdiocese of Luanda
25 November 1957Territory LostArchdiocese of Luanda (Malanje)
Diocese of Silva Porto (Lunda)
Diocese of Malanje (erected)
14 March 1967Territory LostArchdiocese of Luanda (Uije and Zaire) Diocese of Carmona e São Salvador (erected)
10 August 1975Territory LostArchdiocese of Luanda (Cuanza-Sul and Calucinga) Diocese of Novo Redondo (erected)
10 August 1975Territory LostArchdiocese of Luanda (Pungo Adongo)
Diocese of Malanje (Lunda)
Diocese of Henrique de Carvalho (erected)
2 July 1984Territory LostArchdiocese of Luanda (Cabinda) Diocese of Cabinda (erected)
26 March 1990Territory LostArchdiocese of Luanda (Cuanzanse) Diocese of Ndalatando (erected)
6 June 2007Territory LostArchdiocese of Luanda (Caxito, Ambriz, Bula-Atumba, Dande, Bembos, Icolo et Bengo, Kissama, Nambuangongo, and Pango Aluquém) Diocese of Caxito (erected)
6 June 2007Territory LostArchdiocese of Luanda (Viana, Palanca, Bom Jesus, Calumbo, Catete, Barra di Kwanza, Cabo Ledo, Mumbondo, Kilamba Kiaxi, Demba Chio, Muxima, and Massangano) Diocese of Viana (erected)


YearCatholicsTotal PopulationPercent CatholicDiocesan PriestsReligious PriestsTotal PriestsCatholics Per PriestPermanent DeaconsMale ReligiousFemale ReligiousParishesSource
Archdiocese of Luanda

Note: Any changes in boundaries over time are not indicated in the above table.

Affiliated Bishops, Living

Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Diocese of Angola e Congo
    • Hierarchia Catholica, Volume 7, Page 76
    • Hierarchia Catholica, Volume 8, Page 103
    • Hierarchia Catholica, Volume 9, Page 56
    • Series Episcoporum Ecclesiae Catholicae, Volume 1, Page 473
  • Archdiocese of Luanda
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 33, Page 14, to Page 18


Home | Countries | Religious Men Women | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_d, v3.4.8, 30 Jun 2024; Data: 15 Jul 2024