Catholic-Hierarchy DC

Archdiocese of Galveston-Houston

Archidioecesis Galvestoniensis Houstoniensis

Show: All | General Information | Historical Details | Ordinaries | Historical Summary | Statistics | Affiliated Bishops, Living | Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Daniel Nicholas DiNardo, Cardinal, Archbishop
  • Italo Dell’Oro, C.R.S., Auxiliary Bishop

Suffragan Dioceses

General Information

  • Type of Jurisdiction: Archdiocese
  • Elevated: 29 December 2004
  • Metropolitan See
  • Rite: Latin (or Roman)
  • State: Texas
  • Country: United States of America
  • Square Kilometers: 23,257 (8,983 Square Miles)
  • Conference Region: X (AR, OK, TX)
  • Catholic Directory Abbreviation: GAL
  • Official Web Site:
  • Mailing Address: Chancery Office, 1700 San Jacinto St., Houston, TX 77002; P.O. Box 907, Houston, TX 77001-0907, USA
  • Telephone: (713)659-5461
  • Fax: 759-9151

Historical Details

Past and Present Ordinaries

Historical Summary

Prefecture Apostolic of Texas
1839ErectedDiocese of Linares o Nueva León Prefecture Apostolic of Texas (erected)
Vicariate Apostolic of Texas
10 July 1841ErectedPrefecture Apostolic of Texas Vicariate Apostolic of Texas (erected)
Diocese of Galveston
4 May 1847ErectedVicariate Apostolic of Texas Diocese of Galveston (erected) (Name changed and Vicariate raised to a Diocese)
19 July 1850Metropolitan ChangedDiocese of Galveston (from Baltimore to New Orleans)
Diocese of Little Rock (from Baltimore to New Orleans)
Diocese of Mobile (from Baltimore to New Orleans)
Diocese of Natchez (from Baltimore to New Orleans)
28 August 1874Territory LostDiocese of Galveston Vicariate Apostolic of Brownsville (erected) (From the Nueces River to the Rio Grande River)
Diocese of San Antonio (erected) (From the Colorado River to the Nunes River)
15 July 1890Territory LostDiocese of Galveston Diocese of Dallas (erected)
15 November 1947Territory LostDiocese of Dallas (Coleman, Brown, Mills, and Hamilton)
Diocese of Galveston (Lampasas, Coryeli, McLenan, Limestone, Bell, Falls, Robertson, Williamson, Milam, Brazos, Lee, Burleson, Washington, Austin along with parts of Burnet, Colorado, Fayette, Bastrop, and Travis)
Archdiocese of San Antonio (McCulloch, St. Saba, Mason, Llano, Blanco, Rays, and Caldwell along with parts of Burnet, Trams, and Bastrop)
Diocese of Austin (erected)
Diocese of Galveston-Houston
25 July 1959Name ChangedDiocese of Galveston Diocese of Galveston-Houston
25 June 1966Territory LostDiocese of Galveston-Houston (Counties of : Angelina Cherokee, Hardin, Jasper, Jefferson, Nacogdokes, Newton, Orange, Polk, Sabine, San Augustine, Shelby, Tyler, and parts of Chambers and Liberty, and the bays of Trinity Bay and Galveston Bay) Diocese of Beaumont (erected)
13 April 1982Territory LostDiocese of Corpus Christi (Goliad County)
Diocese of Galveston-Houston (Parts of Matagorda and Wharton Counties)
Archdiocese of San Antonio (Calhoun, DeWitt, Jackson, Lavaca, and Victoria Counties and parts of Colorado, Fayette, Matagorda, and Wharton Counties)
Diocese of Victoria in Texas (erected)
12 December 1986Territory LostDiocese of Beaumont (Angelina, Cherokee, Nacogdoches, Sabine, San Augustine, and Shelby)
Diocese of Dallas (Bowie, Camp, Gass, Delta, Franklin, Gregg, Harrison, Henderson, Hopkins. Iamar, Marion, Morris, Panola, Rains, Red River, Rusk, Smith, Titus, Upshur, Van Zandt, and Wood)
Diocese of Galveston-Houston (Anderson, Freestone, Houston, Leon, and Trinity)
Diocese of Tyler (erected)
25 January 1999Territory LostDiocese of Galveston-Houston (Madison county) Diocese of Tyler
Archdiocese of Galveston-Houston
29 December 2004ElevatedDiocese of Galveston-Houston Archdiocese of Galveston-Houston


YearCatholicsTotal PopulationPercent CatholicDiocesan PriestsReligious PriestsTotal PriestsCatholics Per PriestPermanent DeaconsMale ReligiousFemale ReligiousParishesSource
Prefecture Apostolic of Texas
Vicariate Apostolic of Texas
Diocese of Galveston
Diocese of Galveston-Houston
Archdiocese of Galveston-Houston

Note: Any changes in boundaries over time are not indicated in the above table.

Affiliated Bishops, Living

Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Diocese of Galveston
    • Series Episcoporum Ecclesiae Catholicae, Volume 1, Page 175
  • Diocese of Galveston-Houston
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 51, Page 826, and Page 827
  • Archdiocese of Galveston-Houston
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 97, Page 129, and Page 130


Home | Countries | Religious Orders | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_d, v3.4.6, 4 Feb 2024; Data: 14 Apr 2024