Catholic-Hierarchy DC

10th day of May

Diocese Events

See Also: Bishop Events

1228Archdiocese of Salzburg, Austria Territory LostDiocese of Lavant, Slovenia Erected
1419Diocese of Firenze, Italy ElevatedArchdiocese of Firenze {Florence}, Italy Elevated
1570Diocese of Santiago de Chile (Tucumán) Territory LostDiocese of Córdoba (Tucumán), Argentina Erected
1613Société de l’Oratoire de Jésus Approbation
1865Congregazione dei Figli dell’Immacolata Concezione Approbation
1869Religieux de Saint Vincent de Paul Approbation
1887Vicariate Apostolic of Queensland, Australia Name ChangedVicariate Apostolic of Cooktown, Australia Name Changed
1887Diocese of Brisbane, Australia ElevatedArchdiocese of Brisbane, Australia Elevated
1887Diocese of Armidale, Australia
Diocese of Bathurst, Australia
Diocese of Goulburn, Australia
Territory LostDiocese of Wilcannia, Australia Erected
1887Archdiocese of Melbourne, Australia Territory LostDiocese of Sale, Australia Erected
1887Diocese of Adelaide, Australia Territory LostDiocese of Port Augusta, Australia Erected
1887Diocese of Perth, Australia Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Kimberley in Western Australia Erected
1887Diocese of Adelaide, Australia ElevatedArchdiocese of Adelaide, Australia Elevated
1887Diocese of Wellington (Port Nicholson), New Zealand ElevatedArchdiocese of Wellington, New Zealand Elevated
1887Prefecture Apostolic of Fiji Island, Pacific (Oceania) ElevatedVicariate Apostolic of Fiji Island, Pacific (Oceania) Elevated
1887Archdiocese of Montréal, Québec, Canada (became a Metropolitan) Elevated
1887Diocese of Sherbrooke, Québec, Canada (from Québec) Metropolitan Changed
1887Archdiocese of Ottawa, Ontario, Canada (became a Metropolitan) Elevated
1887Vicariate Apostolic of Pontiac, Ontario, Canada (from Québec) Metropolitan Changed
1889Vicariate Apostolic of Melanesia, Pacific (Oceania) Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of New Guinea Erected
1889Vicariate Apostolic of Melanesia, Pacific (Oceania)
Vicariate Apostolic of Micronesia, Pacific (Oceania)
Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of New Britain, Papua New Guinea Erected
1898Vicariate Apostolic of Liaotung and Manchuria, China SplitVicariate Apostolic of Southern Manchuria {Manciuria Meridionale}, China
Vicariate Apostolic of Northern Manchuria {Manciuria Settentrionale}, China
1910Vicariate Apostolic of Chekiang {Ce-Kiam}, China Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Western Chekiang {Ce-Kiam Occidentale}, China Erected
1910Vicariate Apostolic of Chekiang {Ce-Kiam}, China Name ChangedVicariate Apostolic of Eastern Chekiang {Ce-Kiam Orientale}, China Name Changed
1913Vicariate Apostolic of Central Madagascar {Madagascar Centrale}, Madagascar Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Fianarantsoa, Madagascar Erected
1926Diocese of Curitiba, Brazil (Foz do Iguaçu (Iguassú)) Territory LostTerritorial Prelature of Foz do Iguaçu (Iguassú), Brazil Erected
1926Diocese of Curitiba, Brazil (Jacarézinho, Barbozas, Colonia Mincira, Jaguariahyva, Pirahy, Bibeirâo Claro, Sao losé da Boa-Vistai, and Thomazina) Territory LostDiocese of Jacarezinho, Parana, Brazil Erected
1926Diocese of Curitiba, Brazil (Ponta Grossa, Castro, Cruz Machado, Guarapuava, Imbituma, Ipiranga, Ivahy, Palmas, Prudentopolis, Bio Claro, Tibagy, and União da Victoria) Territory LostDiocese of Ponta Grossa, Parana, Brazil Erected
1926Diocese of Curitiba, Brazil ElevatedArchdiocese of Curitiba, Parana, Brazil Elevated
1926Vicariate Apostolic of Peking [Beijing], China (Suanhwafu, Wanchiian, Lungmen, YenMng, Hwailai, Sining, Paoan, Yuchow, and Swaian) Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Süanhwafu, China Erected
1926Diocese of Tiraspol, Moldova Territory LostApostolic Administration of Caucasus, Russian Federation
Apostolic Administration of Odessa, Ukraine
Apostolic Administration of Russia (Armenian), Russian Federation
Apostolic Administration of Tiflis and Georgia
Apostolic Administration of Volga, Russian Federation
1928Diocese of Como, Italy (Torrazza) Territory LostDiocese of Basel e Lugano, Switzerland Territory Added
1941Archdiocese of São Salvador da Bahia, Brazil (Amargosa, Afonso Penna, Aratuhype, Areia, Brejoês, Castro Alves, Itaquara, Itirussu, Jaguaquara, Jaguaripe, Jequiricù, Lage, Maracas, Mutuhype, Santo Antônio de Jesus, Santa Inês, São Miguel, Santa Terezinha, Boa, Nova, Conquista, Encruzilhada, Itambé...) Territory LostDiocese of Amargosa, Bahia, Brazil Erected
1941Society of St. Paul Decretum Laudis
1946Vicariate Apostolic of Tanganyika, Tanzania (Northern region (Uha)) Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Kigoma, Tanzania Erected
1946Vicariate Apostolic of Tanganyika, Tanzania (Southern region (Ufipa)) Name ChangedVicariate Apostolic of Karema, Tanzania Name Changed
1947Diocese of Leavenworth, Kansas, USA Name ChangedDiocese of Kansas City in Kansas, USA Name Changed
1947Diocese of Arezzo, Italy (S. Fiorenzo in Vescona and Muciliano)
Diocese of Chiusi e Pienza, Italy (S. Nazario)
Territory LostTerritorial Abbey of Monte Oliveto Maggiore, Italy Territory Added
1951Prefecture Apostolic of Chowchich [Zhouzhi], China ElevatedDiocese of Zhouzhi [Chowchich], China Elevated
1951Prefecture Apostolic of Dodoma, Tanzania ElevatedVicariate Apostolic of Dodoma, Tanzania Elevated
1951Prefecture Apostolic of Puchi [Puqi], China ElevatedDiocese of Puqi [Puchi], China Elevated
1951Vicariate Apostolic of Upper Nile {Nilo Superiore}, Uganda Name ChangedVicariate Apostolic of Tororo, Uganda Name Changed
1951Prefecture Apostolic of Siangyang [Xiangyang], China ElevatedDiocese of Xiangyang [Siangyang], China Elevated
1954Diocese of Manizales, Colombia ElevatedArchdiocese of Manizales, Colombia Elevated
1954Diocese of Armenia, Colombia (from Medellín) Metropolitan Changed
1954Diocese of Pereira, Colombia (from Medellín) Metropolitan Changed
1958Apostolic Exarchate of Australia (Ukrainian) (Australia) Erected
1960Vicariate Apostolic of Khartoum, Sudan Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of El Obeid, Sudan Erected
1963Diocese of Puerto Montt, Chile ElevatedArchdiocese of Puerto Montt, Chile Elevated
1963Diocese of Osorno, Chile (from Concepción) Metropolitan Changed
1963Diocese of San Carlos de Ancud, Chile (from Concepción) Metropolitan Changed
1963Diocese of Punta Arenas, Chile (from Concepción) Metropolitan Changed
1989Diocese of Mercedes, Argentina Name ChangedDiocese of Mercedes-Luján, Argentina Name Changed
2000Archdiocese of Guwahati, India (Bongaigaon, Barpeta, Dhubri Kokrajhar, and Nalbari except v.d. Kumarikatta) Territory LostDiocese of Bongaigaon, India Erected


Home | Countries | Religious Men Women | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_e, v3.2.4, 30 Jun 2024; Data: 19 Jul 2024