Catholic-Hierarchy DC

Archdiocese of Mercedes-Luján

Archidioecesis Mercedensis-Luianensis

Show: All | General Information | Historical Details | Ordinaries | Historical Summary | Statistics | Affiliated Bishops, Living | Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


Suffragan Dioceses

General Information

  • Type of Jurisdiction: Archdiocese
  • Elevated: 21 November 1997
  • Metropolitan See
  • Rite: Latin (or Roman)
  • Country: Argentina
  • Square Kilometers: 19,330 (7,466 Square Miles)
  • Official Web Site:
  • Mailing Address: Arzobispado, Calle 22 N. 745, B6600HDU Mercedes [Buenos Aires], Argentina
  • Telephone: (02324)432.412
  • Fax: 432.104

Historical Details

Past and Present Ordinaries

Historical Summary

Diocese of Mercedes
20 April 1934ErectedDiocese of La Plata (Mercedes, Suipacha, Navarro, San Andrés de Giles, Rojas, Junin, Sagrado Corazón, General Arenales, Leandro N. Mem, Chacabuco, Rawson, Salto, Carmen de Areco, IX de Julio, French, Chivücoy, Alberdi, Bragado, General Viamonte, Lincoln, Boberts, Luyan, ...) Diocese of Mercedes (erected)
3 March 1947Territory LostArchdiocese of La Plata (Colón, Pergamino, San Nicolás de los Arroyos, Ramallo, Bdrtolomé Miter, San Pedro, Baradero, San Antonio de Areco, Exaltación de la Cruz, General Tlriburu, and Campa)
Diocese of Mercedes (Rojas and Marcelino Ugarte)
Diocese of San Nicolás de los Arroyos (erected)
11 February 1957Territory LostDiocese of Azul (Veinte y Cinco de Mayo)
Diocese of Mercedes (Nueve de Julio, Bragado, General Viamonte, Carlos Tejedor, Pehuajó, Carlos Pellegrini, Rivadavia, General Villegas, General Pinto, Lincoln, Carlos Casares, and Trenque-Lauquen)
Diocese of Nueve de Julio (erected)
11 February 1957Territory LostDiocese of Bahía Blanca (Atreucó, Caleu Caleu, Curacó, Guatraché, Limay Mahuida, Linhuel Calel, Puelen, Hucal, and Utracan)
Diocese of Mercedes (Capital, Catriló, Ohalileo, Chapaleufú, Chical Co, Conhelo, Leventué, Maraco, Quemu-Quemú, Rancul, Realicó, Toay, and Trenel)
Diocese of Santa Rosa (erected)
5 May 1967Metropolitan ChangedDiocese of Mercedes (from Buenos Aires)
Diocese of Mercedes-Luján
10 May 1989Name ChangedDiocese of Mercedes Diocese of Mercedes-Luján
Archdiocese of Mercedes-Luján
21 November 1997ElevatedDiocese of Mercedes-Luján Archdiocese of Mercedes-Luján
4 October 2019ElevatedArchdiocese of Mercedes-Luján (Became a Metropolitan)


YearCatholicsTotal PopulationPercent CatholicDiocesan PriestsReligious PriestsTotal PriestsCatholics Per PriestPermanent DeaconsMale ReligiousFemale ReligiousParishesSource
Diocese of Mercedes
Diocese of Mercedes-Luján
Archdiocese of Mercedes-Luján

Note: Any changes in boundaries over time are not indicated in the above table.

Affiliated Bishops, Living

Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Diocese of Mercedes
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 27, Page 257, to Page 263
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 59, Page 1,107, and Page 1,108
  • Diocese of Mercedes-Luján
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 81, Page 985, and Page 986
  • Archdiocese of Mercedes-Luján
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 90, Page 7, and Page 8
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 111, Page 1,684, and Page 1,685


Home | Countries | Religious Orders | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_d, v3.4.6, 4 Feb 2024; Data: 14 Apr 2024