Catholic-Hierarchy DC

Archdiocese of San Antonio

Archidioecesis Sancti Antonii

Show: All | General Information | Historical Details | Ordinaries | Historical Summary | Statistics | Affiliated Bishops, Living | Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Gustavo Garcia-Siller, M.Sp.S., Archbishop
  • Michael Joseph Boulette, Auxiliary Bishop
  • Gary Wayne Janak, Auxiliary Bishop

Suffragan Dioceses

General Information

  • Type of Jurisdiction: Archdiocese
  • Elevated: 3 August 1926
  • Metropolitan See
  • Depends on: Dicastery for Bishops
  • Rite: Latin (or Roman)
  • State: Texas
  • Country: United States of America
  • Square Kilometers: 60,036 (23,188 Square Miles)
  • Conference Region: X (AR, OK, TX)
  • Catholic Directory Abbreviation: SAT
  • Official Web Site:
  • Mailing Address: Chancery Office, 2718 West Woodlawn Ave., San Antonio, TX 78228, USA
  • Telephone: (210)734-2620
  • Fax: 734-0708

Historical Details

Past and Present Ordinaries

Historical Summary

Diocese of San Antonio
28 August 1874ErectedDiocese of Galveston Vicariate Apostolic of Brownsville (erected) (From the Nueces River to the Rio Grande River)
Diocese of San Antonio (erected) (From the Colorado River to the Nunes River)
3 March 1914Territory LostDiocese of Dallas
Diocese of San Antonio
Diocese of Tucson
Diocese of El Paso (erected)
3 August 1926Territory LostDiocese of Dallas (Dollam, Sherman, Hansford, Ochiltree, Lipscomb, Hartley, Moore, Hutchison, Roberts, Hemphill, Oldham, Potter, Carson, Gray, Wheeler, Deaf Smith, Randall, Armstrong, Donley, Collingsworth, Parmer, Castro, Swisher, Briscoe, Hall, Childress, Bailey, Lamb,...)
Diocese of El Paso (Gaines, Andrews, Ector, and Crane)
Diocese of San Antonio (Martin, Howard, Midland, Glasscock, Sterling, Upton, Reagan, Irion, Tom Green, Concho, Crockett, Schleicher, Menard, Sutton, Kimble, one-half of Mitchell and Coke, and one-eighth of Runnels)
Diocese of Amarillo (erected)
Archdiocese of San Antonio
3 August 1926ElevatedDiocese of San Antonio Archdiocese of San Antonio
15 November 1947Territory LostDiocese of Dallas (Coleman, Brown, Mills, and Hamilton)
Diocese of Galveston (Lampasas, Coryeli, McLenan, Limestone, Bell, Falls, Robertson, Williamson, Milam, Brazos, Lee, Burleson, Washington, Austin along with parts of Burnet, Colorado, Fayette, Bastrop, and Travis)
Archdiocese of San Antonio (McCulloch, St. Saba, Mason, Llano, Blanco, Rays, and Caldwell along with parts of Burnet, Trams, and Bastrop)
Diocese of Austin (erected)
13 April 1982Territory LostDiocese of Corpus Christi (Goliad County)
Diocese of Galveston-Houston (Parts of Matagorda and Wharton Counties)
Archdiocese of San Antonio (Calhoun, DeWitt, Jackson, Lavaca, and Victoria Counties and parts of Colorado, Fayette, Matagorda, and Wharton Counties)
Diocese of Victoria in Texas (erected)
3 July 2000Territory LostDiocese of Corpus Christi (Webb, Zapata, Jim Hogg, and half of La Salle County)
Archdiocese of San Antonio (Maverick, Zavala, Dimmit and half of La Salle County)
Diocese of Laredo (erected)


YearCatholicsTotal PopulationPercent CatholicDiocesan PriestsReligious PriestsTotal PriestsCatholics Per PriestPermanent DeaconsMale ReligiousFemale ReligiousParishesSource
Archdiocese of San Antonio

Note: Any changes in boundaries over time are not indicated in the above table.

Affiliated Bishops, Living

Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


Home | Countries | Religious Orders | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_d, v3.4.6, 4 Feb 2024; Data: 14 Apr 2024