Catholic-Hierarchy DC

Archdiocese of Cartagena

Archidioecesis Carthaginensis in Columbia

Show: All | General Information | Historical Details | Ordinaries | Historical Summary | Statistics | Affiliated Bishops, Living | Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


Suffragan Dioceses

General Information

  • Type of Jurisdiction: Archdiocese
  • Elevated: 20 June 1900
  • Metropolitan See
  • Rite: Latin (or Roman)
  • Country: Colombia
  • Square Kilometers: 8,200 (3,167 Square Miles)
  • Mailing Address: Casa Arzobispal, Carrera del Arzobispado 5 N. 34-55, Cartagena, Colombia
  • Telephone: (5)651.71.60

Historical Details

Past and Present Ordinaries

Historical Summary

Diocese of Cartagena
24 April 1534ErectedDiocese of Panamá Diocese of Cartagena (erected)
22 March 1564Metropolitan ChangedDiocese of Cartagena (to Santafé en Nueva Granada)
Diocese of Popayán (from Lima to Santafé en Nueva Granada)
31 August 1804Territory LostDiocese of Cartagena
Diocese of Popayán
Archdiocese of Santafé en Nueva Granada
Diocese of Antioquía (erected)
Archdiocese of Cartagena
20 June 1900ElevatedDiocese of Cartagena Archdiocese of Cartagena
20 June 1912Territory LostArchdiocese of Cartagena Mission "Sui Iuris" of San Andrés y Providencia (erected)
12 June 1924Territory LostArchdiocese of Cartagena (San Benito (Punta de Blanco and Santiago), Caimito (Los Cayos and Mamón), San Marcos (La Flores, Cuenca, M Pital, Candelaria, M Limón, and El Tablón), and part of Ayapel (Cecilia, Cintura, and Vré)) Prefecture Apostolic of Sinú (erected)
7 July 1932Territory LostArchdiocese of Cartagena (Atlántico) Diocese of Barranquilla (erected)
3 November 1954Territory LostArchdiocese of Cartagena (Brazo de Loba and Simití, San Martín de Loba, Olaya Herrera, Bodega Central, along with parts of: Santa Rosa Sudán, la Rufina, Los Caños de Colorado, and Tiquicio Nuevo except Mompos island) Vicariate Apostolic of San Jorge
20 November 1954Territory LostArchdiocese of Cartagena
Vicariate Apostolic of San Jorge
Diocese of Montería (erected) (Departamento de Córdoba except San Jorge)
25 April 1969Territory LostArchdiocese of Cartagena (Sincelejo, Colosó (Ricaurte), Corozal, Morroa, Ovejas, Palmito, Sampués, San Onofre, San Pedro, Sincé, and Tulú)
Vicariate Apostolic of San Jorge (suppressed) (Caimito, Majagual, S. Benito Abad, San Marcos, Sucre, and Tolú-viejo)
Diocese of Sincelejo (erected)
25 April 1969Territory LostArchdiocese of Cartagena (Maganguè, Córdoba, Margarita, Mompós, Pinillos, San Fernando, and Zambrano)
Vicariate Apostolic of San Jorge (suppressed) (Achí, Barranco de Loba, Morales, San Martín de Loba, Simití, and San Pablo)
Diocese of Magangué (erected)


YearCatholicsTotal PopulationPercent CatholicDiocesan PriestsReligious PriestsTotal PriestsCatholics Per PriestPermanent DeaconsMale ReligiousFemale ReligiousParishesSource
Archdiocese of Cartagena

Note: Any changes in boundaries over time are not indicated in the above table.

Affiliated Bishops, Living

Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Diocese of Cartagena
    • Hierarchia Catholica, Volume 3, Page 154
    • Series Episcoporum Ecclesiae Catholicae, Volume 1, Page 141, to Page 142


Home | Countries | Religious Orders | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_d, v3.4.7, 20 Apr 2024; Data: 25 May 2024