Catholic-Hierarchy DC

28th day of April

Diocese Events

St. Peter Chanel, priest and martyr (Opt. Memorial)
St. Louis Mary de Montfort, priest (Opt. Memorial)

See Also: Bishop Events

1522Diocese of Baracoa (All Cuba), Cuba Name ChangedDiocese of Santiago de Cuba Name Changed
1667Vicariate Apostolic of Calenberg, Göttingen and Grubenhagen, Germany (territory of Minden) Erected
1892Prefecture Apostolic of Western Newfoundland (St. George’s), Canada Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Western Newfoundland (St. George’s), Canada Erected
1905Vicariate Apostolic of Kansu, China Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Southern Kansu {Kansu Meridionale}, China Erected
1905Vicariate Apostolic of Kansu, China Name ChangedVicariate Apostolic of Northern Kansu {Kansu Settentrionale}, China Name Changed
1908Diocese of Antioquía, Colombia Territory LostPrefecture Apostolic of Chocó, Colombia Erected
1911Society of Saint Edmund Approbation
1914Vicariate Apostolic of Galla, Ethiopia Territory LostPrefecture Apostolic of Djibouti Erected
1914Vicariate Apostolic of Khartoum, Sudan Territory LostPrefecture Apostolic of Adamaua, Cameroon Erected
1934Diocese of Cebu, Philippines ElevatedArchdiocese of Cebu, Philippines Elevated
1934Diocese of Bacolod, Philippines (from Manila) Metropolitan Changed
1934Diocese of Cagayan de Oro, Philippines (from Manila) Metropolitan Changed
1934Diocese of Calbayog, Philippines (from Manila) Metropolitan Changed
1934Diocese of Jaro, Philippines (from Manila) Metropolitan Changed
1934Diocese of Zamboanga, Philippines (from Manila) Metropolitan Changed
1942Vicariate Apostolic of Dahomey, Benin
Vicariate Apostolic of Foumban, Cameroon
Prefecture Apostolic of Ghardaïa nel Sahara, Algeria
Prefecture Apostolic of Jos, Nigeria
Prefecture Apostolic of Kaduna, Nigeria
Vicariate Apostolic of Khartoum, Sudan
Vicariate Apostolic of Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso
Territory LostPrefecture Apostolic of Niamey, Niger Erected
1952Delegation to Japan ElevatedNunciature to Japan (to Internunciature) Elevated
1953Misioneros de Guadalupe Approbation
1957Diocese of Fréjus, France Name ChangedDiocese of Fréjus-Toulon, France Name Changed
1958Vicariate Apostolic of Curaçao, Netherlands Antilles, Antilles ElevatedDiocese of Willemstad, Netherlands Antilles, Antilles Elevated
1958Archdiocese of Cuzco, Peru Territory LostDiocese of Abancay, Peru Erected
1958Archdiocese of Karachi, Pakistan Territory LostDiocese of Hyderabad in Pakistan Erected
1958Prefecture Apostolic of Ibadan, Nigeria ElevatedDiocese of Ibadan, Nigeria Elevated
1961Archeparchy of Lattaquié {Laodicea} (Melkite Greek), Syria Erected
1975Diocese of Sideia, Papua New Guinea Name ChangedDiocese of Alotau-Sideia, Papua New Guinea Name Changed
1976Delegation to Nigeria ElevatedNunciature to Nigeria Elevated
1979Diocese of Barra (do Rio Grande), Bahia, Brazil
Diocese of Ruy Barbosa (Rui Barbosa), Bahia, Brazil
Territory LostDiocese of Irecê, Bahia, Brazil Erected
1986Eparchy of Tellicherry (Syro-Malabar), India Territory LostDiocese of Thamarasserry (Syro-Malabar), India Erected


Home | Countries | Religious Orders | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2021
Code: web_e, v3.2.3, 8 Feb 2020; Data: 4 Sep 2021