Catholic-Hierarchy DC


Recent Bishop Events

DateAgeEventBishopTitleCurrent Title
4 Feb 201651.9Ordained BishopJose PulickalTitular Bishop of LaresAuxiliary Bishop of Kanjirapally (Syro-Malabar)
3 Apr 201644.3Ordained BishopChristudas RajappanTitular Bishop of Avitta BibbaAuxiliary Bishop of Trivandrum
11 Apr 201664.6AppointedThomas PaulsamyBishop of Dindigul
55.4AppointedAplinar Senapati, C.M.Bishop of Rayagada
30 Apr 201663.1AppointedFrancis Assisi ChullikattApostolic Nuncio to Kazakhstan
63.1AppointedFrancis Assisi ChullikattApostolic Nuncio to TadjikistanApostolic Nuncio to Kazakhstan
76.8DiedAlphonsus Flavian D’Souza, S.J. †Bishop of Raiganj
3 May 201649.7AppointedKurian Mathew VayalunkalApostolic Nuncio to Papua New Guinea
49.7AppointedKurian Mathew VayalunkalTitular Archbishop of RatiariaApostolic Nuncio to Papua New Guinea
22 May 201664.8Ordained BishopThomas PaulsamyBishop of Dindigul
23 May 201676.6AppointedStanislaus Fernandes, S.J.Apostolic Administrator of BarodaArchbishop Emeritus of Gandhinagar
28 May 201655.5Ordained BishopAplinar Senapati, C.M.Bishop of Rayagada
24 Jun 201663.2AppointedFrancis Assisi ChullikattApostolic Nuncio to KyrgyzstanApostolic Nuncio to Kazakhstan
25 Jun 201659.7AppointedBhagyaiah ChinnabathiniBishop of Guntur
77.1RetiredBali GaliBishop of GunturBishop Emeritus
27 Jun 201690.4DiedHenry Sebastian D’SouzaArchbishop Emeritus of Calcutta
7 Jul 201657.1AppointedJojo AnandApostolic Administrator of DaltonganjBishop of Hazaribag
71.0ResignedGabriel Kujur, S.J.Bishop of DaltonganjBishop Emeritus
10 Jul 201681.9DiedJames PazhayattilBishop Emeritus of Irinjalakuda (Syro-Malabar)
12 Jul 201681.6DiedFrederick D’SouzaBishop Emeritus of Jhansi
25 Jul 201649.9Ordained BishopKurian Mathew VayalunkalTitular Archbishop of RatiariaApostolic Nuncio to Papua New Guinea
28 Jul 201654.5AppointedStephen ChirappanathApostolic Visitor (Visitator)
54.5AppointedStephen ChirappanathTitular Bishop of SlebteApostolic Visitor (Visitator)
49.1AppointedJoseph (Benny Mathew) SrampickalBishop of Great Britain (Syro-Malabar)
6 Aug 201663.9AppointedSalvatore PennacchioApostolic Nuncio to Poland
14 Aug 201681.6DiedRaphael Cheenath, S.V.D. †Archbishop Emeritus of Cuttack-Bhubaneswar
8 Sep 201659.9Ordained BishopBhagyaiah ChinnabathiniBishop of Guntur
21 Sep 201650.1AppointedKurian Mathew VayalunkalApostolic Nuncio to Solomon IslandsApostolic Nuncio to Papua New Guinea
9 Oct 201649.3Ordained BishopJoseph (Benny Mathew) SrampickalBishop of Great Britain (Syro-Malabar)
15 Oct 201665.2AppointedDominic Jala, S.D.B.Apostolic Administrator of NongstoinArchbishop of Shillong
60.7AppointedVictor LyngdohBishop of Jowai
79.9CeasedThomas Menamparampil, S.D.B.Apostolic Administrator of JowaiArchbishop Emeritus of Guwahati
18 Oct 201677.3RetiredJoseph KaithatharaBishop of GwaliorBishop Emeritus
62.8AppointedThomas Thennatt, S.A.C.Bishop of GwaliorBishop-Elect
31 Oct 201664.0AppointedJoseph (Joy) KalathiparambilArchbishop of Verapoly
75.0RetiredFrancis KallarakalArchbishop of VerapolyArchbishop Emeritus
1 Nov 201654.8Ordained BishopStephen ChirappanathTitular Bishop of SlebteApostolic Visitor (Visitator)
18 Nov 201688.1DiedThéophane Matthew Thannickunnel, O. Praem. †Bishop Emeritus of Jabalpur
20 Nov 201660.8InstalledVictor LyngdohBishop of Jowai
22 Nov 201686.7DiedMathew VattackuzhyBishop Emeritus of Kanjirapally (Syro-Malabar)
18 Dec 201664.1InstalledJoseph (Joy) KalathiparambilArchbishop of Verapoly
8 Jan 201763.1Ordained BishopThomas Thennatt, S.A.C.Bishop of GwaliorBishop-Elect


Home | Countries | Religious Orders | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2016
Code: web_d, v3.1.7, 31 Aug 2016; Data: 6 Dec 2016