Catholic-Hierarchy DC

27th day of November

Diocese Events

See Also: Bishop Events

1571Diocese of San Leone, Italy Territory Added
1792[Constitutional Diocese of Mont-Blanc, France] Established
1803Diocese of Caracas, Santiago de Venezuela ElevatedArchdiocese of Caracas, Santiago de Venezuela Elevated
1866Vicariate Apostolic of Burma, Myanmar Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Eastern Burma {Birmania Orientale}, Myanmar
Vicariate Apostolic of Central Burma {Centrale}, Myanmar
Vicariate Apostolic of Southwestern Burma {Birmania Meridio-Occid.}, Myanmar
1922Vicariate Apostolic of Tahiti {Isole Tahiti}, French Polynesia, Pacific (Oceania) (Cook and Manihiki) Territory LostPrefecture Apostolic of Cook e Manihiki, Cook Islands, Pacific (Oceania) Erected
1929Nunciature to Ireland Established
1931Archdiocese of Köln {Cologne}, Germany (Auf dem Dümpel, Piene, Strasse, and Neuenschmiede) Territory LostArchdiocese of Paderborn, Germany Territory Added
1931Archdiocese of Paderborn, Germany (Berg, Bieber, Clemens, and Stracke) Territory LostArchdiocese of Köln {Cologne}, Germany Territory Added
1957Delegation to Thailand
Nunciature to India (Malacca Peninsula)
Name ChangedDelegation to Thailand and the Malacca Peninsula Name Changed
1960Diocese of Huejutla, Hidalgo, México (San Martin, Tamazunchale, and Xilitla)
Diocese of San Luis Potosí, México (Ciudad Valles, Alaquines, Aquismon, Cárdenas, Ciudad del Maiz, Coxcatlan, Huehuetlan, Lagunillas, Rayon, San Antonio, Santa Catarina, P. A. Santos (Tancanhuitz) , Tamasopo, Tàmpacan, Tampomolon, Tamuin, Tancuayalab, Tanlajas, Tanquian, Alfredo M. Terrazas)
Territory LostDiocese of Ciudad Valles, San Luís Potosí, México Erected
1960Diocese of Araçuaí (Arassuaí), Minas Gerais, Brazil (Teófilo Otoni, Aguas Formosas, Carlos Chagas, Itambacuri, Ladainha, Machacalis, Malacacheta, Nanuque, and Poté) Territory LostDiocese of Teófilo Otoni, Minas Gerais, Brazil Erected
1971Archdiocese of Ljubljana, Slovenia (Vrsnik, Korita and parts of Zirovnica, Mrzli vrh, Javorjev Dol, Koprivnik, Dole, and llbvte) Territory LostArchdiocese of Gorizia e Gradisca, Italy Territory Added
1971Archdiocese of Gorizia e Gradisca, Italy (Parts of Medvedje) Territory LostArchdiocese of Ljubljana, Slovenia Territory Added
1978Diocese of Campo Grande, Brazil ElevatedArchdiocese of Campo Grande, Mato Grosso do Sul, Brazil Elevated
1978Diocese of Corumbá, Mato Grosso do Sul, Brazil (from Cuiabá) Metropolitan Changed
1978Diocese of Dourados, Mato Grosso do Sul, Brazil (from Cuiabá) Metropolitan Changed
1978Diocese of Três Lagoas, Mato Grosso do Sul, Brazil (from Cuiabá) Metropolitan Changed
1978Territorial Prelature of Coxim, Mato Grosso do Sul, Brazil (from Cuiabá) Metropolitan Changed
2010Diocese of Musoma, Tanzania (Saragana and Mabui)
Archdiocese of Mwanza, Tanzania (Ukerewe and Ukara)
Territory LostDiocese of Bunda, Tanzania Erected


Home | Countries | Religious Orders | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_e, v3.2.3, 8 Feb 2020; Data: 2 Jun 2024