Catholic-Hierarchy DC

Archdiocese of Tabora

Archidioecesis Taboraensis

Show: All | General Information | Historical Details | Ordinaries | Historical Summary | Statistics | Affiliated Bishops, Living | Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Protase Rugambwa, Cardinal, Archbishop
  • Paul Runangaza Ruzoka, Archbishop Emeritus

Suffragan Dioceses

General Information

Historical Details

Past and Present Ordinaries

Historical Summary

Vicariate Apostolic of Unianyembé
11 January 1887ErectedVicariate Apostolic of Tanganyika Vicariate Apostolic of Upper Congo {Congo Superiore} (erected)
Vicariate Apostolic of Unianyembé (erected) ((or 30 Dec 1886))
15 March 1923Territory AddedVicariate Apostolic of Victoria-Nyanza (Bussambiro) Vicariate Apostolic of Unianyembé
Vicariate Apostolic of Tabora
13 May 1925Name ChangedVicariate Apostolic of Unianyembé Vicariate Apostolic of Tabora
12 July 1926Territory AddedVicariate Apostolic of Urundi Vicariate Apostolic of Tanganyika (Southern part of Uha)
Vicariate Apostolic of Tabora (Central part of Uha)
Vicariate Apostolic of Victoria-Nyanza (Northern part of Uha)
8 April 1929Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Tabora (Part of Uha that is East and North of Malagarazi river)
Vicariate Apostolic of Urundi (Bugufi)
Vicariate Apostolic of Victoria-Nyanza (Civil province of Bukoba)
Vicariate Apostolic of Bukoba (erected)
18 July 1932Territory AddedVicariate Apostolic of Tanganyika (Ngulu and Vgunâa and part of Vgansi) Vicariate Apostolic of Tabora
18 July 1932Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Bukoba
Vicariate Apostolic of Tabora
Vicariate Apostolic of Tanganyika (Kibondo)
13 April 1943Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Tabora (Part of Masai) Vicariate Apostolic of Kilima-Njaro
14 April 1943Territory LostPrefecture Apostolic of Dodoma (Part of Singida)
Vicariate Apostolic of Kilima-Njaro (Part of Moulu)
Vicariate Apostolic of Tabora (Mkalama and parts of Moulu and Singida)
Prefecture Apostolic of Mbulu (erected)
11 January 1946Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Tabora (Shinyanga) Vicariate Apostolic of Mwanza
Archdiocese of Tabora
25 March 1953ElevatedVicariate Apostolic of Tabora Archdiocese of Tabora
12 December 1955Territory AddedDiocese of Bukoba (Usambiro) Archdiocese of Tabora
25 March 1972Territory LostDiocese of Dodoma
Diocese of Mbeya
Diocese of Mbulu
Archdiocese of Tabora
Diocese of Singida (erected) (Iramba, Singida, Manyoni, and parts of Taboraënsi)
11 November 1983Territory LostArchdiocese of Tabora (Kahama) Diocese of Kahama (erected)


YearCatholicsTotal PopulationPercent CatholicDiocesan PriestsReligious PriestsTotal PriestsCatholics Per PriestPermanent DeaconsMale ReligiousFemale ReligiousParishesSource
Vicariate Apostolic of Tabora
Archdiocese of Tabora

Note: Any changes in boundaries over time are not indicated in the above table.

Affiliated Bishops, Living

Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Vicariate Apostolic of Unianyembé
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 15, Page 166, and Page 167
  • Vicariate Apostolic of Tabora
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 17, Page 311, and Page 447
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 18, Page 488, and Page 489
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 24, Page 394, and Page 395
  • Archdiocese of Tabora
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 45, Page 705, to Page 710
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 48, Page 528


Home | Countries | Religious Orders | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_d, v3.4.6, 4 Feb 2024; Data: 14 Apr 2024