Catholic-Hierarchy DC

Archdiocese of Santa Maria

Archidioecesis Sanctae Mariae

Show: All | General Information | Historical Details | Ordinaries | Historical Summary | Statistics | Affiliated Bishops, Living | Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Leomar Antônio Brustolin, Archbishop
  • Hélio Adelar Rubert, Archbishop Emeritus

Suffragan Dioceses

General Information

  • Type of Jurisdiction: Archdiocese
  • Elevated: 13 April 2011
  • Metropolitan See
  • Rite: Latin (or Roman)
  • State: Rio Grande do Sul
  • Country: Brazil
  • Square Kilometers: 20,263 (7,826 Square Miles)
  • Conference Region: Sul 3
  • Official Web Site:
  • Mailing Address: Curia Diocesana, Rua Silva Jardim 2038, 97010-492 Santa Maria, RS, Brazil
  • Telephone: (055)3028-6060
  • Fax: 3025-8757

Historical Details

Past and Present Ordinaries

Historical Summary

Diocese of Santa Maria
15 August 1910ErectedDiocese of São Pedro do Rio Grande do Sul Diocese of Pelotas (erected)
Diocese of Santa Maria (erected)
Diocese of Uruguaiana (erected)
13 February 1937Territory LostDiocese of Santa Maria (Rio Pardo and Candelaria) Archdiocese of Porto Alegre
10 March 1951Territory LostDiocese of Santa Maria (Passo Fundo, Carasinno, Sarandi, Getúlio Vargas, Erechim, and part of Marcelino Ramos) Diocese of Passo Fundo (erected)
22 May 1961Territory LostDiocese of Passo Fundo (Cities of Constantina and Nonoai)
Diocese of Santa Maria (Cities of Frederico Westphalen, Campo Novo, Crissiumal, Humaitá, Irai, Palmeira das Missöes, Santo Augusto, Seberí, Tenente Portela, and Tres Passos)
Diocese of Frederico Westphalen (erected)
27 May 1971Territory LostDiocese of Santa Maria Diocese of Cruz Alta (erected) (Crux Alta, Ijuí, Soledade, Espumoso, S. Barbara do Sul, Ibirubá, Chapada, Barros Cassai, Condor, Ajuncaba, Augusto Pestana, Pejuçara, Panambi, Xavier Fontoura and Viia Joia, Itauba, and Mauricio Cardoso to Tupanciretä, Arroio do Tigre and Arvorezinha)
19 June 1972Territory AddedDiocese of Bagé (Mata and Sao Vincente do Sul) Diocese of Santa Maria
17 July 1991Territory LostDiocese of Santa Maria (Agudo, Arroios do Tigre, Caçapava do Sul, Cachoeira do Sul, Cerro Branco, Ibarama, Paraiso do Sul, Santana da Boa Vista, Segredo, and Sobradinho) Diocese of Cachoeira do Sul (erected)
12 December 1997Territory AddedDiocese of Bagé (Santa Maria de Victoriis (in Cacequi) and Saint Rita (in Laranjeiras)) Diocese of Santa Maria
Archdiocese of Santa Maria
13 April 2011ElevatedDiocese of Santa Maria Archdiocese of Santa Maria


YearCatholicsTotal PopulationPercent CatholicDiocesan PriestsReligious PriestsTotal PriestsCatholics Per PriestPermanent DeaconsMale ReligiousFemale ReligiousParishesSource
Diocese of Santa Maria
Archdiocese of Santa Maria

Note: Any changes in boundaries over time are not indicated in the above table.

Affiliated Bishops, Living

Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Diocese of Santa Maria
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 64, Page 553, and Page 554
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 90, Page 1,039, and Page 1,040
  • Archdiocese of Santa Maria
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 103, Page 441, and Page 442


Home | Countries | Religious Orders | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2023
Code: web_d, v3.4.4, 25 Feb 2023; Data: 8 Nov 2023