Catholic-Hierarchy DC

5th day of May

Diocese Events

See Also: Bishop Events

1887Diocese of Armidale, Australia Territory LostDiocese of Grafton, Australia Erected
1887Diocese of Wellington (Port Nicholson), New Zealand Territory LostDiocese of Christchurch, New Zealand Erected
1914Suburbicarian See of Ostia (-Velletri), Italy SplitSuburbicarian See of Ostia, Italy
Diocese of Velletri, Italy
1914Cardinal Titular Church of Ostia (e Velletri) SplitCardinal Titular Church of Ostia
Cardinal Titular Church of Velletri
1922Diocese of Rimouski (St. Germain of), Québec, Canada (Gaspé and Bonaventure (except Assemetquagan, Restigouche, Milnikek, Matapédia, and Patapedia)) Territory LostDiocese of Gaspé, Québec, Canada Erected
1949Mission "Sui Iuris" of Ahmedabad, India ElevatedDiocese of Ahmedabad, India Elevated
1950Archdiocese of Brisbane, Australia (Boundries adjusted)
Diocese of Toowoomba, Australia (Boundries adjusted)
Territory Added
1950Archdiocese of Adelaide, Australia (Eyre penisula) Territory LostDiocese of Port Augusta, Australia Territory Added
1950Diocese of Bathurst, Australia (Boundries adjusted)
Archdiocese of Sydney, Australia (Boundries adjusted)
Territory Added
1956Archdiocese of Diamantina, Minas Gerais, Brazil (Angueretâ) Territory LostDiocese of Sete Lagoas, Minas Gerais, Brazil Territory Added
1962Cardinal Titular Church of Santa Teresa al Corso d’Italia Established
1965Diocese of Kabba, Nigeria Name ChangedDiocese of Lokoja, Nigeria Name Changed
1966Diocese of Kisumu, Kenya (North Borabu and West Borabu) Territory LostDiocese of Kisii, Kenya Territory Added
1967Diocese of Avellaneda, Argentina (from La Plata) Metropolitan Changed
1967Diocese of Lomas de Zamora, Argentina (from La Plata) Metropolitan Changed
1967Diocese of Mercedes, Argentina (from Buenos Aires) Metropolitan Changed
1967Diocese of Nueve de Julio, Argentina (from Buenos Aires) Metropolitan Changed
1978Diocese of Toledo, Parana, Brazil (Foz do Iguaçu, Céu Azul, Matelândia, Medianeira, São Miguel, and Santa Helena) Territory LostDiocese of Foz do Iguaçu, Parana, Brazil Erected
1978Diocese of Toledo, Parana, Brazil (Cascavel, Capitào Leónidas Marques, Catanduvas, Corbélia, and Guaraniaçu) Territory LostDiocese of Cascavel, Brazil Erected
1987Diocese of San Vicente, El Salvador (Part of La Paz and Tecoluca) Territory LostDiocese of Zacatecoluca, El Salvador Erected
1999Heralds of Good News Approbation
2022Domus Vaticanae, Roman Curia Established


Home | Countries | Religious Men Women | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_e, v3.2.4, 30 Jun 2024; Data: 21 Jul 2024