Catholic-Hierarchy DC

11th day of February

Diocese Events

Our Lady of Lourdes (Opt. Memorial)

See Also: Bishop Events

1516Diocese of Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic Territory LostDiocese of Baracoa (All Cuba) (Nuestra Señora de la Asunción de Baracoa), Cuba Erected
1547Diocese of Nicaragua (From Seville (Spain) to Lima (Peru)) Metropolitan Changed
1780Vicariate Apostolic of Upper and Lower Saxony (Hanover, Northern Germany), Germany SuppressedVicariate Apostolic of Nordic Missions, Germany Territory Added
1870Missionary Sons of the Immaculate Heart of Mary Approbation
1903Brothers of the Sacred Heart Founded
1905Vicariate Apostolic of Batavia, Indonesia Territory LostPrefecture Apostolic of Dutch Borneo {Borneo Olandese}, Indonesia Erected
1913Diocese of San Salvador, El Salvador Territory LostDiocese of Santa Ana, El Salvador (Ahuachapan, Santa Ana, and Sonsonate Provinces)
Diocese of San Miguel, El Salvador (San Miguel, La Union, Morazan, and Usulutan Provinces)
1913Diocese of San Salvador, El Salvador (Cabanas, Chalatenanco, Cuscatlan, La Libertad, La Paz, San Salvador, and San Vicente Provinces) ElevatedArchdiocese of San Salvador, El Salvador Elevated
1921Archdiocese of Mariana, Minas Gerais, Brazil (Bello Horizonte, Contagem, Santa Luzia, Sabara, Gaeté, Siete Lagoâs, Bomfim, Entre Bios, Santa Quiteria, Itauna, Para, Pequy, Pitanguy, Divinopolis, Itapecerica, Oliveira, Passatiempo, Campo Bello, Perdoès, and Boni Succeso with Hitiruna) Territory LostDiocese of Belo Horizonte, Brazil Erected
1924Vicariate Apostolic of Nouvelle-Anvers, Congo (Dem. Rep.) (Thsuapa) Territory LostPrefecture Apostolic of Tsuapa, Congo (Dem. Rep.) Erected
1925Vicariate Apostolic of Yenchowfu, China (Mengyin Feihsien, Tancheng, Ichowfu, Ghiicow, Jshni, Jihchao, Chueheng, Kaomi, Kiaochow, Tsimo, and Tsingtao) Territory LostPrefecture Apostolic of Tsingtao [Qingdao], China Erected
1925Nunciature to Bolivia (to Nunciature) Elevated
1948Delegation to Palestine, TransJordan, and Cyprus Established
1954Diocese of Lingayen, Philippines Name ChangedDiocese of Lingayen-Dagupan, Philippines Name Changed
1956Archdiocese of Canberra (and Goulburn), Australia
Diocese of Wollongong, Australia
Territory Added
1956Archdiocese of Canberra (and Goulburn), Australia (Koorawatha) Territory LostDiocese of Bathurst, Australia Territory Added
1957Archdiocese of Córdoba, Argentina (Tercero Arriba and General San Martín and parts of Unión Marcos Juárez and Rio Segundo) Territory LostDiocese of Villa María, Argentina Erected
1957Diocese of Viedma, Argentina (Chubut, Santa Cruz, and Tierra del Fuego) Territory LostDiocese of Comodoro Rivadavia, Argentina Erected
1957Diocese of Resistencia, Argentina (Formosa) Territory LostDiocese of Formosa, Argentina Erected
1957Archdiocese of Paraná, Argentina (Gualeguaychú, Gualeguay, Victoria, Uruguay, and Rosario Tala) Territory LostDiocese of Gualeguaychú, Argentina Erected
1957Archdiocese of La Plata, Argentina (Lomas de Zamora, Avellaneda, Lanús, Esteban Echeverría, and Cañuelas) Territory LostDiocese of Lomas de Zamora, Argentina Erected
1957Diocese of Bahía Blanca, Argentina (Necochea and Lobería)
Archdiocese of La Plata, Argentina (Pueyrredon, Balcarce, General Alvarado, General Madariaga, General Lavalle, Maipú, Mar Chiquita, and Tordillo)
Territory LostDiocese of Mar del Plata, Argentina Erected
1957Archdiocese of La Plata, Argentina (Morón, Matanza, General San Martín, Merlo, and Moreno) Territory LostDiocese of Morón, Argentina Erected
1957Diocese of Azul, Argentina (Veinte y Cinco de Mayo)
Diocese of Mercedes, Argentina (Nueve de Julio, Bragado, General Viamonte, Carlos Tejedor, Pehuajó, Carlos Pellegrini, Rivadavia, General Villegas, General Pinto, Lincoln, Carlos Casares, and Trenque-Lauquen)
Territory LostDiocese of Nueve de Julio, Argentina Erected
1957Diocese of Corrientes, Argentina (Misiones) Territory LostDiocese of Posadas, Argentina Erected
1957Archdiocese of Santa Fe, Argentina (Nueve de Julio, General Obligado, San Javier, and Vera) Territory LostDiocese of Reconquista, Argentina Erected
1957Archdiocese of La Plata, Argentina (San Isidro, Vicente López, San Fernando, Tigre, Pilar, and General Sarmiento)
Diocese of San Nicolás de los Arroyos, Argentina (Campana and Exaltación de la Santa Cruz)
Territory LostDiocese of San Isidro, Argentina Erected
1957Diocese of Bahía Blanca, Argentina (Atreucó, Caleu Caleu, Curacó, Guatraché, Limay Mahuida, Linhuel Calel, Puelen, Hucal, and Utracan)
Diocese of Mercedes, Argentina (Capital, Catriló, Ohalileo, Chapaleufú, Chical Co, Conhelo, Leventué, Maraco, Quemu-Quemú, Rancul, Realicó, Toay, and Trenel)
Territory LostDiocese of Santa Rosa, Argentina Erected
1957Diocese of Tucumán, Argentina ElevatedArchdiocese of Tucumán, Argentina Elevated
1957Diocese of Bahía Blanca, Argentina ElevatedArchdiocese of Bahía Blanca, Argentina Elevated
1957Diocese of Mendoza, Argentina (Neuquén) Territory LostDiocese of Viedma, Argentina Territory Added
1957Diocese of Santiago del Estero, Argentina (from Paraná) Metropolitan Changed
1957Diocese of Viedma, Argentina (from La Plata) Metropolitan Changed
1963Nunciature to Burundi Established
1964Vicariate Apostolic of Villavicencio, Colombia ElevatedDiocese of Villavicencio, Colombia Elevated
1966Nunciature to Syria (to Nunciature) Elevated
1968Vincentian Congregation (Syro-Malabar) Decretum Laudis
1973Diocese of Boiano-Campobasso, Italy ElevatedArchdiocese of Boiano-Campobasso, Italy Elevated
1973Diocese of Potenza e Marsico Nuovo, Italy ElevatedArchdiocese of Potenza e Marsico Nuovo, Italy Elevated
1985Pontifical Commission for Pastoral Assistance to Health Care Workers, Roman Curia Established
1986Diocese of Civita Castellana, Orte e Gallese, Italy
Diocese of Nepi e Sutri, Italy
UnitedDiocese of Civita Castellana (, Orte, Gallese, Nepi e Sutri), Italy United
1994Pontifical Academy for Life, Roman Curia Established
1999Brothers of the Sacred Heart Approbation
2002Apostolic Administration of Northern European Russia {Russia Europea Settentrionale} ElevatedArchdiocese of Madre di Dio a Mosca (Moscow), Russian Federation Elevated
2002Apostolic Administration of Southern European Russia {Russia Europea Meridionale}
Diocese of Tiraspol, Moldova
ElevatedDiocese of San Clemente a Saratov, Russian Federation Elevated
2002Apostolic Administration of Eastern Siberia {Siberia Orientale}, Russian Federation ElevatedDiocese of San Giuseppe a Irkutsk, Russian Federation Elevated
2002Apostolic Administration of Western Siberia {Siberia Occidentale}, Russian Federation ElevatedDiocese of Trasfigurazione a Novosibirsk, Russian Federation Elevated
2011Prefecture Apostolic of Likouala, Congo ElevatedDiocese of Impfondo, Congo Elevated
2011Delegation to Kosovo Established
2012Diocese of Fada N’Gourma, Burkina Faso
Archdiocese of Koupéla, Burkina Faso
Territory LostDiocese of Tenkodogo, Burkina Faso (Boulgou and Koulpeolgo) Erected
2012Vicariate Apostolic of Meki, Ethiopia (Robe (West Arsi Zone, All Bale Zone, and Afder Zone)) Territory LostPrefecture Apostolic of Robe, Ethiopia Erected


Home | Countries | Religious Men Women | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_e, v3.2.4, 30 Jun 2024; Data: 19 Jul 2024