Catholic-Hierarchy DC

17th day of December

Diocese Events

See Also: Bishop Events

1659Diocese of Cochin, India Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Malabar, India Erected
1787Diocese of Camerino, Italy ElevatedArchdiocese of Camerino, Italy Elevated
1832Delegation to Mesopotamia, Kurdistan, and Lesser Armenia, Iraq Established
1841Diocese of Kingston, Ontario, Canada Territory LostDiocese of Toronto, Ontario, Canada Erected
1841Society of Precious Blood Approbation
1850Diocese of Cloyne and Ross, Ireland SplitDiocese of Cloyne, Ireland
Diocese of Ross, Ireland
1913Diocese of Seattle, Washington, USA Territory LostDiocese of Spokane, Washington, USA Erected
1922Diocese of Wrocław (Breslau), Poland Territory LostApostolic Administration of Upper Silesia {Górny Sląsk}, Poland Erected
1936Diocese of Lahore, Pakistan (Dera Ghazi Khan with Buoch Trans Frontier, Muzaffargarth, Jhang, Multan, Montgomery, Lyalpur, Dera Ismail Khan, along with Bhajákar and Bahawalpur) Territory LostPrefecture Apostolic of Multan, Pakistan Erected
1938Archdiocese of Eger, Hungary (Józsa, Szovŕt, Tetétlen, Földes, and Sap) Territory LostApostolic Administration of Debreczen, Hungary Territory Added
1938Archdiocese of Eger, Hungary (Tiszaherecseny, Tiszaadony Tiszavid, Tiszaszalka, and Kŕntorjŕnos) Territory LostApostolic Administration of Mérk, Hungary Territory Added
1938Apostolic Administration of Mérk, Hungary (Zŕhonij Ilk and Nyirvasvári) Territory LostArchdiocese of Eger, Hungary Territory Added
1940Paulist Fathers Approbation
1949Diocese of Zamboanga, Philippines (Davao) Territory LostTerritorial Prelature of Davao, Philippines Erected
1952Diocese of Manizales, Colombia (Immaculate Conception B. M. V., Sacred Heart of Jesus, from Montenegro, generally, La Tebaida, Calarcá, Córbiba, Pijao, Genova; parish vicariates: Barcelona and Buenavista, Filandia, Circassia, Quimbaya, and Salento) Territory LostDiocese of Armenia, Colombia Erected
1952Diocese of Nueva Pamplona, Colombia (Santander del Sur) Territory LostDiocese of Bucaramanga, Colombia Erected
1952Diocese of Cali, Colombia (Buga, San Pedro, Tuluá, Andalucía, Bugalagrande, Sevilla, and Caicedonia)
Archdiocese of Popayán, Colombia (Florida, Candelaria, Pradera, Palmira, Cerrito, Guacarí, and Ginebra)
Territory LostDiocese of Palmira, Colombia Erected
1952Prefecture Apostolic of Chocó, Colombia (Pueblo Rico and S. Antonio de Chami)
Diocese of Manizales, Colombia (Nuestra Seńora de la Pobreza, N. S. de la Valvanera, Virginia, Viterbo, Apía, Santuario, Belén de Umbria, Mistrató, Anserma, Belalcázar, Guática (with S. Clement), Arabia, Balboa and La Celia; parts of Marseilles and S. Rosa)
Territory LostDiocese of Pereira, Colombia Erected
1956Diocese of Cajamarca, Peru (Part of Caiamarca (Cutervo, Chota, and Santa Cruz))
Archdiocese of Trujillo, Peru (Lambayeque (Chiclayo, Lambayeque, and Ferreńafe))
Territory LostDiocese of Chiclayo, Peru Erected
1960Diocese of Salto, Uruguay (Soriano)
Diocese of San José de Mayo, Uruguay (Colonia)
Territory LostDiocese of Mercedes, Uruguay Erected
1960Territorial Prelature of Bom Jesus do Piauí, Piaui, Brazil (Sao Raimundo Nonato, Canto do Burití, Caracol, and Sao Joáo do Piaui) Territory LostTerritorial Prelature of Săo Raimundo Nonato, Piaui, Brazil Erected
1960Territorial Prelature of Cotabato, Philippines (Marbel, Banga, Dadiangas, Glan, Kiamba, Lagao, Milbuk, Norala, Polomolok, Tupi, and Bolol) Territory LostTerritorial Prelature of Marbel, Philippines Erected
1962Diocese of León en Nicaragua (Esteli, Madriz, and Nueva Segovia) Territory LostDiocese of Esteli, Nicaragua Erected
1973Archdiocese of Salisbury, Zimbabwe (Mashonaland North along with Lomagundi, Urungwe, Kariba, Sipolilo, and Mount Darwin) Territory LostPrefecture Apostolic of Sinoia, Zimbabwe Erected
1974Diocese of Majunga, Madagascar (Andriamena) Territory LostDiocese of Ambatondrazaka, Madagascar Territory Added
1976Diocese of Wollongong, Australia (Eurobadalla) Territory LostArchdiocese of Canberra (and Goulburn), Australia Territory Added
1976Archdiocese of Canberra (and Goulburn), Australia (Waugoola) Territory LostDiocese of Bathurst, Australia Territory Added
1976Archdiocese of Canberra (and Goulburn), Australia (Jemalong) Territory LostDiocese of Wilcannia-Forbes, Australia Territory Added
1977Diocese of Amravati, India (Districts of Aurangabad and Parbhani)
Archdiocese of Hyderabad, India (Districts of Bhir, Nanded, and Osmanabad)
Territory LostDiocese of Aurangabad, India Erected
1977Prefecture Apostolic of Idah, Nigeria ElevatedDiocese of Idah, Nigeria Elevated
1982Archdiocese of Honiara, Solomon Islands (Malaita District) Territory LostDiocese of Auki, Solomon Islands Erected
1982Eparchy of Alexandria {Alessandria} (Coptic), Egypt Territory LostEparchy of Ismayliah (Coptic), Egypt Erected
1992Diocese of Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia (Bahaigan Pendalaman (Interior Division)) Territory LostDiocese of Keningau, Malaysia Erected
1998Nunciature to Palau, Pacific (Oceania) Established
2022Diocese of Macerata-Tolentino-Recanati-Cingoli-Treia, Italy Name ChangedDiocese of Macerata, Italy Name Changed
2022Titular See of Recanati
Titular See of Cingoli
Titular See of Tolentino
Titular See of Treia


Home | Countries | Religious Men Women | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_e, v3.2.4, 30 Jun 2024; Data: 11 Jul 2024