Catholic-Hierarchy DC

Diocese of Tucson

Dioecesis Tucsonensis

Show: All | General Information | Historical Details | Ordinaries | Historical Summary | Statistics | Affiliated Bishops, Living | Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


General Information

  • Type of Jurisdiction: Diocese
  • Erected: 8 May 1897
  • Metropolitan: Archdiocese of Santa Fe
  • Depends on: Dicastery for Bishops
  • Rite: Latin (or Roman)
  • State: Arizona
  • Country: United States of America
  • Square Kilometers: 110,611 (42,723 Square Miles)
  • Description: La Paz, Yuma, Pinal, Gila, Graham, Greenlee, Santa Cruz, Cochise, and Pima Counties in Arizona
  • Conference Region: XIII (AZ, CO, NV, NM, UT, WY)
  • Catholic Directory Abbreviation: TUC
  • Official Web Site:
  • Mailing Address: Chancery Office, 192 S. Stone Ave., Bldg. 2, Tucson, AZ 85701; P.O. Box 31, Tucson, AZ 85702, USA
  • Telephone: (520)838-2500
  • Fax: 838-2590

Historical Details

Past and Present Ordinaries

Historical Summary

Vicariate Apostolic of Arizona
3 March 1868ErectedDiocese of Santa Fe Vicariate Apostolic of Arizona (erected)
Vicariate Apostolic of Colorado and Utah (erected)
22 December 1871Territory AddedVicariate Apostolic of Arizona (State of Arizona, the County of El Paso in Texas, and the County of Donana (Mesilla Valley) in New Mexico)
12 February 1875Metropolitan ChangedVicariate Apostolic of Arizona (from Saint Louis to Santa Fe)
Vicariate Apostolic of Colorado (from Saint Louis to Santa Fe)
1891Territory LostVicariate Apostolic of Arizona (El Paso County in Texas) Diocese of Dallas
Diocese of Tucson
8 May 1897ErectedVicariate Apostolic of Arizona (Name changed and Vicariate raised to a Diocese) Diocese of Tucson (erected)
3 March 1914Territory LostDiocese of Dallas
Diocese of San Antonio
Diocese of Tucson
Diocese of El Paso (erected)
11 July 1936Metropolitan ChangedDiocese of Tucson (from Santa Fe to Los Angeles)
16 December 1939Territory LostArchdiocese of Santa Fe (San Juan, McKinley, and Catron counties and parts of Rio Arriba, Sandoval, Bernalillo, and Valencia)
Diocese of Tucson (Mohave, Coronino, Yavapai, Navajo, and Apache)
Diocese of Gallup (erected)
28 June 1969Territory LostDiocese of Gallup (Mohave, Yavapai, and part of Coconino)
Diocese of Tucson (Maricopa and part of Pinal)
Diocese of Phoenix (erected)


YearCatholicsTotal PopulationPercent CatholicDiocesan PriestsReligious PriestsTotal PriestsCatholics Per PriestPermanent DeaconsMale ReligiousFemale ReligiousParishesSource
Diocese of Tucson

Note: Any changes in boundaries over time are not indicated in the above table.

Affiliated Bishops, Living

Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Vicariate Apostolic of Arizona
    • Series Episcoporum Ecclesiae Catholicae, Volume 1, Page 176
  • Diocese of Tucson
    • Hierarchia Catholica, Volume 8, Page 570
    • Hierarchia Catholica, Volume 9, Page 379
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 28, Page 488, to Page 490


Home | Countries | Religious Orders | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_d, v3.4.6, 4 Feb 2024; Data: 14 Apr 2024