Catholic-Hierarchy DC

16th day of December

Diocese Events

See Also: Bishop Events

1675Diocese of Ceuta and Tanger, Spain Name ChangedDiocese of Ceuta, Spain Name Changed
1743Diocese of Santiago de Guatemala ElevatedArchdiocese of Guatemala Elevated
1743Diocese of Nicaragua (From Lima (Peru) to Guatemala) Metropolitan Changed
1880Cardinal Titular Church of Santi Vitale, Valeria, Gervasio e Protasio Restored
1919Nunciature to Paraguay (as Internunciature) Restored
1939Archdiocese of Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA (San Juan, McKinley, and Catron counties and parts of Rio Arriba, Sandoval, Bernalillo, and Valencia)
Diocese of Tucson, Arizona, USA (Mohave, Coronino, Yavapai, Navajo, and Apache)
Territory LostDiocese of Gallup, New Mexico, USA Erected
1944Diocese of Bathurst in Canada, New Brunswick (Madawaska, Victoria, and Restigouche Sud) Territory LostDiocese of Edmundston, New Brunswick, Canada Erected
1944Diocese of Piaui, Brazil (Parnaiba, Luiz Gorreia, Barros, Burity dos Lopes, Petro Secundo, Periperi, Piracuruca, BataTha, and Porto Alegre) Territory LostDiocese of Parnaíba, Piaui, Brazil Erected
1944Diocese of Piaui, Brazil (Oeiras, Jaicos, Patrocinio, Paulista, Picos, Floriano, Jerumenha, and Simplicio Mendes) Territory LostDiocese of Oeiras, Brazil Erected
1944Diocese of Piaui, Brazil Name ChangedDiocese of Teresina, Brazil Name Changed
1949Vicariate Apostolic of Egypt (Egitto), Egypt (Boundaries adjusted) Territory Added
1957Prefecture Apostolic of Urawa, Japan ElevatedDiocese of Urawa, Japan Elevated
1963Diocese of Nicotera e Tropea, Italy (Aiello Calabro, Serra d'Aiello, Amantea, S. Pietro in Amantea, Belmonte Calabro, Cleto, Falconara Albanese, Fiumefreddo Bruzio and Longobardi plus Laghitelli and Terrati) Territory LostArchdiocese of Cosenza, Italy Territory Added
1963Diocese of Nicotera e Tropea, Italy (Falerna, Nocera Tirinese, and S. Mango d'Aquino) Territory LostDiocese of Nicastro, Italy Territory Added
1965Diocese of Campo Mourão, Parana, Brazil (Manoel Ribas, Pitanga, and Palmital)
Diocese of Ponta Grossa, Parana, Brazil (Càndido de Abreu, Cruz Macbado, Guarapuava, Inácio Martins, Pinhao, and Prudentópolis)
Diocese of Toledo, Parana, Brazil (Laranjeiras do Sul)
Territory LostDiocese of Guarapuava, Parana, Brazil Erected
1977Archdiocese of Barcelona, Spain (Santa Maria de Arenys del Mar) Territory LostDiocese of Gerona, Spain Territory Added
1986Archdiocese of Beograd (-Smederevo), Serbia (became a Metropolitan) Elevated
1986Apostolic Administration of Jugoslavenska Banat, Serbia ElevatedDiocese of Zrenjanin, Serbia Elevated
1986Diocese of Subotica, Serbia (from Immediately Subject) Metropolitan Changed
1992Archeparchy of Ernakulam (Syro-Malabar), India Territory LostArcheparchy of Ernakulam-Angamaly (Syro-Malabar), India Erected
1992Archeparchy of Ernakulam (Syro-Malabar), India Name ChangedArcheparchy of Ernakulam-Angamaly (Syro-Malabar), India Name Changed
1996Archdiocese of Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic (Puerto Plata and Gaspar Hernández (from Espaillat)) Territory LostDiocese of Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic Erected
1996Archeparchy of Trivandrum (Syro-Malankara), India (Kanyakumari) Territory LostEparchy of Marthandom (Syro-Malankara), India Erected
2005Archdiocese of Făgăraş şi Alba Iulia (Romanian), Romania (became a Major Archbishopric) Elevated
2006Nunciature to Montenegro Established


Home | Countries | Religious Men Women | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_e, v3.2.4, 30 Jun 2024; Data: 19 Jul 2024