Catholic-Hierarchy DC

23rd day of March

Diocese Events

St. Turibius de Mongrovejo, bishop (Opt. Memorial)

See Also: Bishop Events

1545Archdiocese of Braga, Portugal Territory LostDiocese of Miranda (do Douro), Portugal Erected
1870Diocese of Guayaquil, Ecuador
Archdiocese of Quito, Ecuador
Territory LostDiocese of Portoviejo (Porto Vecchio), Ecuador Erected
1912Vicariate Apostolic of Brownsville, Texas, USA (Name changed and Vicariate raised to a Diocese) Territory LostDiocese of Corpus Christi, Texas, USA Erected
1928Diocese of Padova {Padua}, Italy (Casetta, Motta, Moresolo, Zennare (in the lower part), and S. Dominici) Territory LostDiocese of Chioggia, Italy Territory Added
1932Vicariate Apostolic of Kweyang [Guiyang] (Kweiyang), China (Houping, Wuchwan, Yehho, Lungchuan, Tehkiang, Szenan, Yinkiang, Sungtao, Shihtsien, Kiangkow, Tungjen, Szehsien, Yuping , Shengki, Shiping, Tsingki, Chenyuan, Hwangping, Taikuing, Tsingkiang, Kiungshui, Tienchu, Kingping, Yungkiang, Liping, Yungtsung, ...) Territory LostMission "Sui Iuris" of Shihtsien [Shiqian], China Erected
1968Diocese of Palo, Philippines (Southern Leyte (the Assumption, the Immaculate Conception, and the Most Holy Rosary), Matalom, Bato, Hilongos, Hindang, Inopacan, Baybay (all in Leyte), and St. Joseph and the Sacred Heart of Jesus) Territory LostDiocese of Maasin, Philippines Erected
1968Diocese of Sorsogon, Philippines (Masbate (St. Anthony of Padua, St. Vincent Ferrer, and Holy Cross)) Territory LostDiocese of Masbate, Philippines Erected
1970Diocese of Niangara, Congo (Dem. Rep.) Name ChangedDiocese of Isiro-Niangara, Congo (Dem. Rep.) Name Changed
1972Diocese of Meerut, India (Bijnor (except the part called Dhampar), Garwal, Tehri, Chamoli, and Uttarkasi) Territory LostApostolic Exarchate of Bijnor (Syro-Malabar), India Erected
1972Prefecture Apostolic of Raipur, India (Bastar) Territory LostApostolic Exarchate of Jagdalpur (Syro-Malabar), India Erected
1994Diocese of Lins, Sao Paulo, Brazil (Araçatuba, Andradina, Bento de Abreu, Bilac, Birigüí, Castilho, Coroados, Gabriel Monteiro, Guaraçai, Guararapes, Lavinia, and Mirandópolis) Territory LostDiocese of Araçatuba, Sao Paulo, Brazil Erected
2004Archdiocese of Poznań, Poland (Boundaries adjusted)
Diocese of Włocławek (Kujawy, Kalisze), Poland (Boundaries adjusted)
Territory LostArchdiocese of Gniezno, Poland (Boundaries adjusted) Territory Added
2006Diocese of Raigarh, India (Jashpur) Territory LostDiocese of Jashpur, India Erected


Home | Countries | Religious Orders | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_e, v3.2.3, 8 Feb 2020; Data: 16 Jun 2024