Catholic-Hierarchy DC

Diocese of Barra do Piraí-Volta Redonda

Dioecesis Barrensis de Pirai-Voltaredondensis

Show: All | General Information | Historical Details | Ordinaries | Historical Summary | Statistics | Affiliated Bishops, Living | Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Luiz Henrique da Silva Brito, Bishop
  • Francesco Biasin, Bishop Emeritus
  • João Maria Messi, O.S.M., Bishop Emeritus

General Information

  • Type of Jurisdiction: Diocese
  • Name Changed: 26 January 1965
  • Metropolitan: Archdiocese of São Sebastião do Rio de Janeiro
  • Rite: Latin (or Roman)
  • State: Rio de Janeiro
  • Country: Brazil
  • Square Kilometers: 4,624 (1,786 Square Miles)
  • Description: Volta Redonda, Barra do Piraí, Resende, Barra Mansa, Itatiaia, Quatis, Porto Real, Rio Claro, Pinheiral, Mendes, Paulo de Frontin, and Piraí
  • Conference Region: Leste 1
  • Official Web Site:
  • Mailing Address: Rua 25/B 44, Vila Santa Cecilia, 27260-330 Volta Redonda, RJ, Brazil
  • Telephone: (024)3340-2801
  • Fax: (same)

Historical Details

Past and Present Ordinaries

Historical Summary

Diocese of Barra do Piraí
4 December 1922ErectedDiocese of Niterói (Nictheroy) Diocese of Barra do Piraí (erected)
27 March 1925Territory LostDiocese of Barra do Piraí (Besengano, Conservatória, Encruzilhada, Ipiabas, Miguel Pereira, Paraíba do Sul, Paty do Alferes, Rio Bonito, Rio das Flores, Sapucaia, Três Rios, Valença, and Vassouras)
Diocese of Niterói (Nictheroy) (Carmo and Sumidouro)
Diocese of Valença (erected)
13 April 1946Territory LostDiocese of Barra do Piraí (Duque de Caxias and São João de Meriti)
Diocese of Niterói (Nictheroy) (Petrópolis, Teresópolis, São José do Vale do Rio Preto, Magé, Guapimirim, part of Três Rios (Bemposta), and part of Paraíba do Sul (Parish of Inconfidência))
Diocese of Petrópolis (erected)
26 March 1960Territory LostDiocese of Barra do Piraí (Nova Iguacú, Nilópolis, Itaguaí, Mangaratiba, district of Tairetá, and region Sertâo (Vassouras))
Diocese of Petrópolis (São João de Meriti)
Diocese of Nova Iguaçu (erected)
13 June 1960Territory AddedDiocese of Valença (Ipiabas) Diocese of Barra do Piraí
Diocese of Barra do Piraí-Volta Redonda
26 January 1965Name ChangedDiocese of Barra do Piraí Diocese of Barra do Piraí-Volta Redonda
14 March 1980Territory LostDiocese of Barra do Piraí-Volta Redonda (Angra dos Reis and Parati)
Diocese of Nova Iguaçu (Itaguai and Mangaratiba)
Diocese of Itaguaí (erected)


YearCatholicsTotal PopulationPercent CatholicDiocesan PriestsReligious PriestsTotal PriestsCatholics Per PriestPermanent DeaconsMale ReligiousFemale ReligiousParishesSource
Diocese of Barra do Piraí
Diocese of Barra do Piraí-Volta Redonda

Note: Any changes in boundaries over time are not indicated in the above table.

Affiliated Bishops, Living

Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Diocese of Barra do Piraí
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 15, Page 485, to Page 487
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 52, Page 906, and Page 907
  • Diocese of Barra do Piraí-Volta Redonda
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 59, Page 873, and Page 874


Home | Countries | Religious Orders | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_d, v3.4.7, 20 Apr 2024; Data: 19 May 2024