Catholic-Hierarchy DC

Diocese of Ajmer

Dioecesis Aimerensis

Show: All | General Information | Historical Details | Ordinaries | Historical Summary | Statistics | Affiliated Bishops, Living | Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Vacant
  • Oswald Joseph Lewis, Apostolic Administrator
  • Pius Thomas D’Souza, Bishop Emeritus
  • Ignatius Menezes, Bishop Emeritus

General Information

  • Type of Jurisdiction: Diocese
  • Name Changed: 20 July 2005
  • Metropolitan: Archdiocese of Agra
  • Rite: Latin (or Roman)
  • Country: India
  • Square Kilometers: 146,680 (56,655 Square Miles)
  • Description: Ajmer, Jodhpur, Kota, Barmer, Bundi, Jalore, Jhalwar, Pali, Sirohi, Tonk, Jaisalmer, and Baran
  • Official Web Site:
  • Mailing Address: Bishop's House, Kaiserganj, Ajmer-305001, Rajasthan, India
  • Telephone: (0145) 2460.074
  • Fax: (same)

Historical Details

Past and Present Ordinaries

Historical Summary

Mission "Sui Iuris" of Rajputana
1890ErectedArchdiocese of Agra Mission "Sui Iuris" of Rajputana (erected)
Prefecture Apostolic of Rajputana
1891ElevatedMission "Sui Iuris" of Rajputana Prefecture Apostolic of Rajputana
Diocese of Ajmer
22 May 1913ElevatedPrefecture Apostolic of Rajputana Diocese of Ajmer
11 March 1935Territory LostDiocese of Ajmer (Part of the Administration of Central India, which is south of the Administration of Rajputana, the Prefecture (tahsil) of Thandla, the districts of Isaghar and Mandasor, and the State of Sitaman)
Diocese of Allahabad (State of Bhopal and the district of Bhilsa)
Diocese of Nagpur (District of Eoshangabad (except Pachmari), district of Nimar, State of Barwani, and that part of the States of Indore and Dhar, which lies to the south of the river Narbada)
Prefecture Apostolic of Indore (erected)
21 June 1951Territory AddedArchdiocese of Agra (Bandikui and Alwar) Diocese of Ajmer
8 May 1955Territory LostDiocese of Ajmer (Multan) Diocese of Rawalpindi
Diocese of Ajmer and Jaipur
13 May 1955Name ChangedDiocese of Ajmer Diocese of Ajmer and Jaipur
13 September 1963Territory LostDiocese of Ajmer and Jaipur (Raisen)
Diocese of Indore (Bhopal, Sehore, Vishisha, and Hoshangabad)
Diocese of Jabalpur (Sagar)
Archdiocese of Bhopal (erected)
2 April 1973Territory LostDiocese of Ajmer and Jaipur (Guna) Archiepiscopal Exarchate of Sagar (Syro-Malabar)
11 March 1981Territory LostDiocese of Ajmer and Jaipur (Mandsaur in Madhya Pradesh) Diocese of Indore
3 December 1984Territory LostDiocese of Ajmer and Jaipur (Bhilwara, Udaipur, Chittorgarh, Dungarpur, and Manswara (in Rajasthan) along with tehsil of Thandla in Madhya Pradesh) Diocese of Udaipur (erected)
20 July 2005Territory LostDiocese of Ajmer and Jaipur (Jaipur, Dausa, Alwar, Sawai Madhopur, Karoli, Nagaur, Sikar, Hanumangarh, Jhunjhumu, Churu, Ganganagar, and Bikaner) Diocese of Jaipur (erected)
Diocese of Ajmer
20 July 2005Name ChangedDiocese of Ajmer and Jaipur Diocese of Ajmer


YearCatholicsTotal PopulationPercent CatholicDiocesan PriestsReligious PriestsTotal PriestsCatholics Per PriestPermanent DeaconsMale ReligiousFemale ReligiousParishesSource
Diocese of Ajmer
Diocese of Ajmer and Jaipur
Diocese of Ajmer

Note: Any changes in boundaries over time are not indicated in the above table.

Affiliated Bishops, Living

Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Diocese of Ajmer
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 44, Page 45
  • Diocese of Ajmer and Jaipur
    • Acta Apostolicae Sedis, Volume 47, Page 859


Home | Countries | Religious Orders | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_d, v3.4.7, 20 Apr 2024; Data: 12 Jun 2024