Catholic-Hierarchy DC

17th day of June

Diocese Events

See Also: Bishop Events

1777Vicariate Apostolic of Valachia (Križevci), Croatia ElevatedEparchy of Križevci (Kreutz) (Križevci), Croatia Elevated
1777Diocese of Veszprém, Hungary
Diocese of Zagreb (Agram), Croatia
Territory LostDiocese of Szombathely, Hungary Erected
1854Diocese of Périgueux, France Name ChangedDiocese of Périgueux (-Sarlat), France Name Changed
1890Vicariate Apostolic of Shansi {Scian-Si} (Chan-Si), China SplitVicariate Apostolic of Northern Shansi {Scian-Si Settentrionale}, China
Vicariate Apostolic of Southern Shansi {Scian-Si Meridionale}, China
1910Sons of Saint Mary Immaculate Approbation
1931Vicariate Apostolic of Taiyüanfu, China (Yutze, Sliowyang, Pinting, Sienyang, Yuhsien, TaiJcu, Kihsien, Tsinyuan, SuJcow, and Taiyuan) Territory LostPrefecture Apostolic of Yütze [Yuci], China Erected
1931Congregación de San Pedro ad-Vincula Approbation
1932Vicariate Apostolic of Sianfu, China (Chouchih, Shingping, Hushien, Wukung, Fufeng, and Meishien) Territory LostPrefecture Apostolic of Chowchich [Zhouzhi], China Erected
1932Vicariate Apostolic of Luanfu, China (Hungtung, Chaocheng, Fensi, Hohsien, Lingshih, Yunghwo, Sihsien, Taning, Puhsien, Lufeng, Siangling, Fowshan, and Antseh) Territory LostPrefecture Apostolic of Hungtung [Hongdong], China Erected
1932Prefecture Apostolic of Shohchow, China ElevatedVicariate Apostolic of Shohchow [Shuoxian], China Elevated
1932Prefecture Apostolic of Tatungfu, China ElevatedVicariate Apostolic of Tatungfu, China Elevated
1937Diocese of Osaka, Japan (Kyoto and Shiga) Territory LostPrefecture Apostolic of Kyoto, Japan Erected
1937Vicariate Apostolic of Hankow [Hankou], China (Suihsien, Ingshanhsien, and Anluhsien) Territory LostPrefecture Apostolic of Suixian [Suihsien], China Erected
1948Vicariate Apostolic of Guam, Pacific (Oceania) (Wake Island) Territory Added
1958[Patriotic Diocese of Huizhou, China] Erected
1964Delegation to Indochina Name ChangedDelegation to Vietnam and Cambodia Name Changed
1989Diocese of Tlalnepantla, México, México ElevatedArchdiocese of Tlalnepantla, México, México Elevated
1989Diocese of Cuautitlán, México, México (from México) Metropolitan Changed
1989Diocese of Texcoco, México, México (from México) Metropolitan Changed
1989Diocese of Netzahualcóyotl, México, México (from México) Metropolitan Changed
1991Diocese of Hwange, Zimbabwe (Gokwe and Omay) Territory LostDiocese of Gokwe, Zimbabwe Erected
1995Diocese of Calabozo, Venezuela ElevatedArchdiocese of Calabozo, Venezuela Elevated
1995Diocese of Valle de la Pascua, Venezuela (from Ciudad Bolívar) Metropolitan Changed
1995Diocese of San Fernando de Apure, Venezuela (from Caracas, Santiago de Venezuela) Metropolitan Changed
2006Diocese of Soacha, Colombia (Boundaries adjusted) Territory LostDiocese of Fontibón, Colombia (Boundaries adjusted) Territory Added
2011Archdiocese of Passo Fundo, Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil (Uauá) Territory LostDiocese of Juazeiro, Bahia, Brazil Territory Added


Home | Countries | Religious Orders | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_e, v3.2.3, 8 Feb 2020; Data: 20 Jun 2024