Catholic-Hierarchy DC

31st day of December

Diocese Events

St. Sylvester I, pope (Opt. Memorial)

See Also: Bishop Events

1848Diocese of Gaeta, Italy ElevatedArchdiocese of Gaeta, Italy Elevated
1909Diocese of Fargo, North Dakota, USA (Adams, Billings, Bowman, Burke, Burleigh, Divide, Dunn, Emmons, Golden Valley, Grant, Hettinger, McKenzie, McLean, Mercer, Morton, Mountrail, Northwest Bottineau, Oliver, Renville, Sioux, Slope, Stark, Ward, and Williams counties) Territory LostDiocese of Bismarck, North Dakota, USA Erected
1909Diocese of Duluth, Minnesota, USA (Becker, Beltrami, Clay, Clearwater, Hubbard, Kittson, Marshall, Mahnomen, Norman, Pennington, Polk, Red Lake, and Rosseau Counties.) Territory LostDiocese of Crookston, Minnesota, USA Erected
1913Vicariate Apostolic of Northern Tonking {Tonkino Settentrionale}, Viet Nam Territory LostPrefecture Apostolic of Lang Són et Cao Bang, Viet Nam Erected
1915Vicariate Apostolic of Temiskaming, Ontario, Canada ElevatedDiocese of Haileybury, Ontario, Canada (Name Changed and Vicariate raised to a Diocese) Elevated
1916Nunciature to Chile (to Nunciature) Elevated
1927Archdiocese of München und Freising {Munich}, Germany (Loding) Territory LostDiocese of Passau, Germany Territory Added
1953Diocese of Calicut, India Territory LostEparchy of Tellicherry (Syro-Malabar), India Erected
1963Delegation to Korea ElevatedNunciature to Korea (to Internunciature) Elevated
1983Diocese of Belize Name ChangedDiocese of Belize City-Belmopan, Belize, Antilles Name Changed
1985Diocese of Banjaluka, Bosnia and Herzegovina Name ChangedDiocese of Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina Name Changed
1996Archdiocese of Los Altos, Quetzaltenango-Totonicapán, Guatemala (Departamento de Retalhuleu)
Diocese of Sololá, Guatemala (Departamento de Suchitepéquez)
Territory LostDiocese of Suchitepéquez-Retalhuleu, Guatemala Erected
1996Diocese of Sololá, Guatemala Name ChangedDiocese of Sololá-Chimaltenango, Guatemala Name Changed
2003Vicariate Apostolic of Bauchi, Nigeria ElevatedDiocese of Bauchi, Nigeria Elevated
2007Archdiocese of Aix (-Arles-Embrun), France Name ChangedArchdiocese of Aix (-Arles), France (removed Embrun as secondary title) Name Changed
2007Diocese of Gap, France Name ChangedDiocese of Gap (-Embrun), France (added Embrun as secondary title) Name Changed


Home | Countries | Religious Orders | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2024
Code: web_e, v3.2.3, 8 Feb 2020; Data: 1 May 2024