Catholic-Hierarchy DC

Pontifical Council for Culture

Pontificium Consilium de Cultura

Show: All | General Information | Ordinaries | Historical Summary | Affiliated Bishops, Living | Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


  • Gianfranco Ravasi, Cardinal, President
  • Paul Tighe, Secretary
  • Carlos Alberto de Pinho Moreira Azevedo, Official
  • Paul Joseph Jean Poupard, Cardinal, President Emeritus
  • Barthélemy Adoukonou, Secretary Emeritus

General Information

  • Type of Jurisdiction: Pontifical Council
  • Erected: 20 May 1982
  • Curial Office
  • Roman Curia
  • Description: fosters relations between the Holy See and the realm of human culture, especially by promoting communication with various contemporary institutions of learning and teaching, so that secular culture may be more and more open to the Gospel, and specialists in the sciences, literature, and the arts may feel themselves called by the Church to truth, goodness, and beauty. (Pastor Bonus, 166)
  • Section on the Vatican Website:
  • Official Web Site:
  • Mailing Address: 00193 Roma, Via della Conciliazione, 5
  • Telephone:
  • Fax:

Past and Present Ordinaries

Historical Summary

20 May 1982ErectedPontifical Council for Culture (erected)
30 July 2012UnitedPontifical Commission for the Cultural Heritage of the Church Pontifical Council for Culture

Affiliated Bishops, Living

Affiliated Bishops, Deceased


Home | Countries | Religious Orders | Popes | Holy See | Roman Curia | Cardinals by Rank
Bishops: All | Living | Deceased | Youngest | Oldest | Cardinal Electors
Dioceses: All | Current Only | Titular | Vacant | Structured View
Events: Overview | Recent | by Date | by Year | Necrology
Ad Limina | Conclaves | Consistories | Councils
Eastern Catholic Churches


About Catholic-Hierarchy
Terminology/Site Help
[ Comments/Corrections ] Copyright David M. Cheney, 1996-2021
Code: web_d, v3.3.6, 16 Apr 2021; Data: 3 May 2021